New user, new TomTom, new problem

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by whammer, Jun 25, 2007.

  1. whammer

    whammer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
    I'm totally new to forums, so please excuse my ignorance. What has driven me here is a problem that seems to be cropping up for many users of TomTom. My new TomTom 910 worked fine for 3 days until I went to TomTom home to check for updates and to do a backup. When I got finished my unit locked up. To make a long story short, after following several tips on how to get back up and running, 1) reset button, 2) restore backup (which I had made), 3) tech support, I was told that my maps no longer resided on my TomTom. They also do not reside on the installation disk, so I am forced to send my unit back to TomTom in Concord Mass. I am not a happy camper.
    I've also heard a suggestion to do the backup in windows rather than TomTom home. Has anyone else lost maps and if so how did you resolve the problem?

    Thanks, Bill
     
    whammer, Jun 25, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. whammer

    ranger55

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    510
    Whammer i have a 510 i did not loose maps but when i did back up some how i can not reconnect to my pc i have also sent back many time plus replace my unit still same issue. Good luck with replaceing your maps.
     
    ranger55, Jun 26, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. whammer

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    hello and welcome Bill, if your unit is not that old. I would suggest to return your unit to the retailer and exchange it for another one. Sometimes these things happen. I hope this doesnt discourage you to return your tomtom.
     
    Pedro2NR, Jun 29, 2007
    #3
  4. whammer

    Thom

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    27302
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider V2, OneLE, XXL540TM
    My step-daughter justreceived a One XL and she asked me to update it. I hooked it to my PC and FIRST BACKED IT UP

    It was a good thing I did, because when I though I was done getting it all updated, I started it and the device stated that there were no maps installed. I went to the back-up and began copying the entire USA_and_Canada folder back onto the device. I hope that works...


     
    Thom, Dec 1, 2007
    #4
  5. whammer

    Rajung

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lost maps

    Hope someone can help
    Just got the TT One LE from Best Buy
    Didnt back up
    Tried to update from the website with new map of US
    Downloaded and started to install
    Got almost finished and errored out 6 times
    Any one have an idea on wher to go from here
    No maps installednow
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2007
    Rajung, Dec 1, 2007
    #5
  6. whammer

    lec510

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    16
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 510
    There is a sticky 'TomTom best practices'.
    Apparently nobody read.
     
    lec510, Dec 1, 2007
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.