New update for the GPS week number rollover won’t work!


Joined
Apr 9, 2019
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
5150
I’m posting here for my dad. so yesterday I went to update his TomTom truck pro 5150 on my laptop, which usually works fine when I update his maps.
Which then unfortunately got corrupt and then the ‘no maps found’ screen appeared on his sat nav.
I have Been on the phone to Tom Tom customer support and they managed to fix the map so it was no longer corrupted.
And then still the downloads were not working, they would get up to 60 or something percent and then say there was a problem.

Rang Tom Tom for the third time and they managed to finally get the new Quick GPS Fix update for that GPS Week Number Rollover which is not not working. The screen will sit on ‘downloading items’ and ‘getting ready’.
I have tried many attempts and I have even re started my lap top multiple times and un plugged the satnav and rebooted multiple times, and even emptied the download folder a few times.

My dad is a truck driver and needs his sat nav, I’m coming to the end of my tether and now me and my mum have tried everything and we are pretty techy too so it’s not like we don’t know what we are doing when it comes to using this kind of stuff.
Really needing some help.
I apologise for any spelling mistakes.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,677
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Welcome to TomTomForums.

Have you made a "Reset" ?
Menu > Settings > System > Reset Device

CAUTION

Make sure that all the items at MY Places on the device are shown In MyDrive web at
https://mydrive.tomtom.com/en_gb/
so that they can be synced back to the device after the Reset.

If you never had that open you must log in with the user name (eMail address) and password you use on the 5150.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2019
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
5150
Welcome to TomTomForums.

Have you made a "Reset" ?
Menu > Settings > System > Reset Device

CAUTION

Make sure that all the items at MY Places on the device are shown In MyDrive web at
https://mydrive.tomtom.com/en_gb/
so that they can be synced back to the device after the Reset.

If you never had that open you must log in with the user name (eMail address) and password you use on the 5150.

Hello, thank you for your reply Arno,

In my settings there is not an option for System on the tabs in settings it’s General, Connections, Downloads and About, these are the only tabs that are showing in settings.

And where will I find my places ? And what items am I looking for, I’m guessing routes etc ?

Thanks
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2019
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
5150
Welcome to TomTomForums.

Have you made a "Reset" ?
Menu > Settings > System > Reset Device

CAUTION

Make sure that all the items at MY Places on the device are shown In MyDrive web at
https://mydrive.tomtom.com/en_gb/
so that they can be synced back to the device after the Reset.

If you never had that open you must log in with the user name (eMail address) and password you use on the 5150.

Unfortunately I have been on the phone to TomTom for the fourth time now and still it has not been resolved. They asked me if I was using a touch screen laptop and I was, and they told me to swap it for a laptop with a non- touch screen as she claimed that Tom Tom does not support devices with touch screens. I swapped it and once again there is nothing happening and is just sitting on the getting ready screen. I’m out of ideas and it sounded like Tom Tom customer support were too.

My firewall on both laptops also is not liking the TomTom app at all, I have had many security alerts, I am using norton 360 like we have been forever. and this is only just happening with the app. And our internet is also perfectly fine and is always fast and safe as always.

We have never had a problem with this before as my dad has had the sat nav for four years now.

I have even reinstalled the MyDrive app on my mums laptop but still nothing.

I will appreciate any help at this point.
Thanks
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,332
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
@Arno -- that 5150 is a Nav3
I'm not where i have a Nav3 unit handy, but if you can guide him from there...
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,332
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
My firewall on both laptops also is not liking the TomTom app at all, I have had many security alerts,
That's not unusual, depending upon which firewall is in use. Your firewall suspects something is amiss, in particular, that there is some kind of 'man in the middle' attack occurring. It thinks MyDrive is the culprit, and that your 5150 device (which is actually a little mini-server) is the target. It may also be responding to the unusual port number in use, or the presence of a self-signed certificate. It may be necessary to shut down a firewall while this process completes.

Can you elaborate upon what kind of warnings your firewall was giving?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 9, 2019
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
5150
That's not unusual, depending upon which firewall is in use. Your firewall suspects something is amiss, in particular, that there is some kind of 'man in the middle' attack occurring. It thinks MyDrive is the culprit, and that your 5150 device (which is actually a little mini-server) is the target. It may also be responding to the unusual port number in use, or the presence of a self-signed certificate. It may be necessary to shut down a firewall while this process completes.

Can you elaborate upon what kind of warnings your firewall was giving?
Thank
You for your help.

The
That's not unusual, depending upon which firewall is in use. Your firewall suspects something is amiss, in particular, that there is some kind of 'man in the middle' attack occurring. It thinks MyDrive is the culprit, and that your 5150 device (which is actually a little mini-server) is the target. It may also be responding to the unusual port number in use, or the presence of a self-signed certificate. It may be necessary to shut down a firewall while this process completes.

Can you elaborate upon what kind of warnings your firewall was giving?

Hiya,
Thank you a bunch for your help.

It kept saying unsafe and stuff like that.

I have turned off the firewall and am trying to repair the map from being curupted like the lady in the phone was telling me to do and still nothing. It Will get to 60% and then say something went wrong, the same when I try and download the quick fix and the map again.

Thanks
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,677
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
@Arno -- that 5150 is a Nav3
I'm not where i have a Nav3 unit handy, but if you can guide him from there...
Sorry, I am not familiar with Trucker models and presumed that the 5150 was a NAV4 series device.

To make a factory Reset tap the arrow on the main page.
Tap "Settings". tap right arrow (five times on my 1535).
Tap "Reset factory settings", tap Yes.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2019
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
5150
Sorry, I am not familiar with Trucker models and presumed that the 5150 was a NAV4 series device.

To make a factory Reset tap the arrow on the main page.
Tap "Settings". tap right arrow (five times on my 1535).
Tap "Reset factory settings", tap Yes.


Hiya there is no option for any arrows on my my drive, I’m really sorry for all this hassle.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,677
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
1.) To make a factory Reset tap the arrow on the main page.
2.) Tap "Settings".
3.) tap right arrow (five times on my 1535).
4,) Tap "Reset factory settings", tap Yes.

Reset_NAV3_Device.jpg
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,332
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Onko TomTom jo ratkaissut GPS Week Week Rollover -ongelman?
Minulla on TomTom Rider, joka odottaa korjausta
See other thread.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top