New TT GO 720 can't find US map, only Guam

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by rhill, Dec 26, 2007.

  1. rhill

    rhill

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I'm setting up my parents new 720 and TT Home says that the US map is on the device but when I go to pref>manage maps>switch maps the only map listed is Guam.

    I also earlier removed the Guam map at which point the device said No Maps! or something similar and was basically inoperable.

    Is the device bad or is it just user error? :D

    This is getting frustrating. Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated!!

    :confused:
     
    rhill, Dec 26, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. rhill

    GOer910

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Did you make a backup of your TomTom before removing the maps? :eek:
     
    GOer910, Dec 26, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. rhill

    rhill

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    All available updates have been done according TT Home.

    Don't worry I've got it backed up and the maps copied to my computer.

    We've talked to tech support twice now and they have just said delete and re-install the US map. This HAS NOT WORKED. Which means it is probably a bad map file.

    So now what? :confused:
     
    rhill, Dec 26, 2007
    #3
  4. rhill

    billsoto

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem with Guam.

    Did you fix it yet? Trust me it is user error. You have to got to change preferences then Reset Factory Settings and start all over again. The system is not very forgiving.

     
    billsoto, Dec 27, 2007
    #4
  5. rhill

    rhill

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally got a new file from tech support:

    North_America-7.meta.dct

    They said once I was able to get through/log-in to tomtom.com that there would be detailed instructions with the file. Well there wasn't :mad:

    Now what?
     
    rhill, Dec 28, 2007
    #5
  6. rhill

    rhill

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha well now tech support has successfully walked through the steps of totally FUBAR'ing the unit to where it won't even turn on.

    Then they expect us to mail it back to them, then wait for them to mail a new one. Yeah right.

    Piss poor customer service
     
    rhill, Dec 29, 2007
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.