New TomTom Software V6.52

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by timber, Oct 31, 2006.

  1. timber

    timber

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Annandale and Eskdale Scotland
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT1V3UK
    timber, Oct 31, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. timber

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Timber, Thanks for keeping us updated
     
    Pedro2NR, Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. timber

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    But - does anyone know yet if this is going to blow-up 3rd party installed applicatiosn like Tripmaster (I have really become accustomed to using this - and love the altitude indicator)? I have let TT home download 6.52, but did not want to install it until i know the impact on the above.

    If it really is going to improve the GPS program - that is probably more important. Even after taking the steps recommended by TT support (elsewhere in this forum) to clean-up active destinations and to re-set the unit multiple times, I am still finding the "you have arrived" is still usually off by a few hundred yards to 1/2 mile with respect to specific addresses and/or POI's.

    Question is - is 6.52 going to fix that?
     
    GAW, Oct 31, 2006
    #3
  4. timber

    drledger

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    TN
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T and XXL
    I am certain I am doing something incorrect again but when I click on the link I just get the web page that ask about the model of tomtom and my question. What do I need to do? I continue to look for the on/off situation to be addressed.
     
    drledger, Nov 1, 2006
    #4
  5. timber

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    The link doesn't direct you to the information.

    Click Here for full details on the firmwire.
     
    Pedro2NR, Nov 1, 2006
    #5
  6. timber

    raincloud

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Tripmaster works fine.

    Can`t seem to locate the ttn file that was used with 6.51
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2006
    raincloud, Nov 1, 2006
    #6
  7. timber

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    Thanks. On your assurance on tripmaster, i went ahead and loaded it. Tripmaster still works, and now so does GPSFix.

    PS - I see a ttn file in the tripmaster folder.
     
    GAW, Nov 1, 2006
    #7
  8. timber

    bobball

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Michigan
    TomTom Model(s):
    910 w iPod & Razr connections
    GAW, did the update fix the inaccuracy, the one you described as a "you have arrived" up to half a mile from your destination?

    As I read that, I assumed that the problem was with the map data rather than the device or the firmware which operates the TT.

    I don't quite understand the need for GPSFix, for that matter. My Garmin eTrex never needed that kind of ephemeris update, although I suppose it took a little longer to acquire satellites, especially if it had been moved a state or two away from its last fix.
     
    bobball, Nov 2, 2006
    #8
  9. timber

    drledger

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    TN
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T and XXL
    So has anyone actually upgraded to this version? After the last upgrade destroyed my first tomtom I am a little hesitant.
     
    drledger, Nov 2, 2006
    #9
  10. timber

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    I updating the new firmwire. I haven't had the option yet to download the new Quick GPS Fix, but it does lock on the Sats faster.

    Using Quick GPS Fix , your GO downloads information about where the GPS satellites will be for the next 7 days. Your GO can then calculate where you are very quickly and with only a weak GPS signal.
     
    Pedro2NR, Nov 2, 2006
    #10
  11. timber

    drledger

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    TN
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T and XXL
    Took a deep breath and upgraded. I noticed a new progress indicator and a note that the program was flashing firmware upgrade and a slightly modified screen when complete. The fix on satellites may well be faster. It does work after the upgrade so that pleases me. I gather still no assistance on the on/off when using dc power or info about the traffic module. I am having a switch installed in my car to turn off the power to the dc plug on the tom tom. Each time I start the car even for just a brief trip it will not activate the tomtom only when I intend to use it and hopefully can remember to turn it off. There is also a new screen on shutdown. I still have the noise when using the ipod but have transferred most of my music to the tomtom and it works great. BTW what is the default color scheme for day on the 910?
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2006
    drledger, Nov 2, 2006
    #11
  12. timber

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    The default day color scheme is America.
     
    Pedro2NR, Nov 2, 2006
    #12
  13. timber

    Idioteque

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Idioteque, Nov 9, 2006
    #13
  14. timber

    dswilson

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe it's me, but I can't find any downloads for the TT except 5.42. Where is the new 6.52 version located?
     
    dswilson, Nov 21, 2006
    #14
  15. timber

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    When you connect to TT Home, it should automatically detect an update.
    If not, on the left side of Home under options: Click on "Download your updates"
     
    Pedro2NR, Nov 21, 2006
    #15
  16. timber

    dswilson

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, that got it.
     
    dswilson, Nov 22, 2006
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.