New TomTom Owner

TomTom Model(s)
540TM
I'm new to TomTom but not to GPS units. I ran Deluo Serial GPS with a Dell Axim x5 and Mapopolis software until it was no longer supported. I then switch to a Lowrance 350c for several years. That too is no longer supported and I was tired of not having several major highway upgrades on the device.
I picked up a TomTom XXL 540TM a few weeks ago. Backed everything up and started tweaking it. So far I haven't done a lot other than the generally recommended stuff posted in sticky threads. I'm starting to play with custom POIs but I am unable to get them to show up on the map like factory POIs. I've searched extensively and tried everything I've found (clear flash, reboots, reset to default, etc) but to no avail. I'll post a thread on this as soon as I'm sure that I've exhausted my options. I'm not discouraged at all yet.

In other news I'm piecing together a new mount for my car. Both the Lowrance and Dell setups were significantly heavier units that required a beefy mount to keep them from flexing and bouncing all over when driving which I find very annoying. I have a 1" RAM Mount ball on a custom bracket integrated into the dashboard of my car. I have a few components from RAM and Arkon on order to get things mounted up nicely. I have it temporarily mounted with the stock Easyport suctioned to the self-adhesive disc that came from TomTom which is stuck on a RAM diamond base. It's crude and embarrassing to look at but it got me on the road quick without having to order and reorder pricey RAM components. My vehicle's windshield is way too far away to use that and I don't like taping things to my dash.

I look forward to contributing any way I can to the forum. I've found a lot of good information so far.

Try Browse Map from the main menu then options which should let you select POI and define which ones you want displayed on the map, note if you enable too many the refresh rate on the screen will suffer.