New North America map version 715 now available

Discussion in 'TomTom News & Announcements' started by infama, Feb 18, 2008.

  1. infama

    infama

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    11
    Check out tomtom.com

    size is 1953mb
     
    infama, Feb 18, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. infama

    SShadow

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    USA & Canada is 7.15 as well...

    But the latest map guarentee says I have the latest map... LMAO TTHome sux.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2008
    SShadow, Feb 18, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. infama

    MooseLoad

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same for me...says I have the latest maps.
     
    MooseLoad, Feb 18, 2008
    #3
  4. infama

    HoldenCaulfield

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hahahaha. Figures. My 30 day guarantee expired last week. Oh well...
     
    HoldenCaulfield, Feb 18, 2008
    #4
  5. infama

    SShadow

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    Mine expired on Jan 27... But I would assume that it would say so... I'm kinda annoyed though - they KNEW there would be a bunch of GPSes sold at Christmas time - yet instead of getting the maps out before the end of Jan, they probably (on purpose) waited until now to release them so we're forced to pay for the upgrade. And for the USA & Canada it's 69 pounds/eruos (I have no idea what that symbol means)... So it's either 100 or 140 bux... Sigh. That's almost 1/2 what I paid for the GPS 1.5 months ago.
     
    SShadow, Feb 18, 2008
    #5
  6. infama

    greal

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    3
    Weird: no North_America 2GB, only North America?!

    My Latest Map Guarantee will be over in exactly one week...
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2008
    greal, Feb 18, 2008
    #6
  7. infama

    ChillyCat

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    N.E.Ohio
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720

    Where you seeing the map ?? I'm getting store closed page.
    [​IMG]
     
    ChillyCat, Feb 18, 2008
    #7
  8. infama

    Locotuss

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Missouri
    TomTom Model(s):
    510
    ditto, why have a new usa map, but not available to usa on usa web site,
     
    Locotuss, Feb 18, 2008
    #8
  9. infama

    MooseLoad

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Use TT Home and add maps. USA 7.15 is available there to buy....
     
    MooseLoad, Feb 18, 2008
    #9
  10. infama

    greal

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    3
    That page is obsolete. For North American users, the only way to purchase maps is via TT Home. Anti-piracy a la TomTom, that's all.
     
    greal, Feb 18, 2008
    #10
  11. infama

    nrvous82

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would buy the new maps, but it's B.S that you have to pay for them in pounds or euros. U.S.A users get screwed with the conversion charges. Why don't they list $?
     
    nrvous82, Feb 18, 2008
    #11
  12. infama

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520

    That's a function of the credit card company, not TomTom, that adds the conversion charges.

    Would you feel better if TomTom decided arbitrarily to use a conversion of 1 Euro = $1.50 US? (you shouldn't)

    TomTom is a European company; we in NA have to live with their somwhat narrow focus in many areas.
     
    dhn, Feb 19, 2008
    #12
    1 person likes this.
  13. infama

    XSwiftX

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have only had my TomTom One 3rd for a couple weeks and I can't get the new version either. Home says I have the latest version but my map version is 710.

    I am starting to wonder if I bought the wrong brand of GPS....
     
    XSwiftX, Feb 19, 2008
    #13
  14. infama

    F22

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    pacific northWET
    Does anyone know what the story is on the 920? I thought it had a one year map guarantee....

    I just checked and while Home finally says a new version is available - use Home's Menu, and find "use latest map guarantee" since when Home first opened it said I had the latest map and had 12,000+/- mapshares. But then it says I can purchase as I am NOT eligible for the new maps. I purchased sometime in Dec. Yup, the 30 days are gone but ONE year is NOT.
     
    F22, Feb 19, 2008
    #14
  15. infama

    EricL

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE XL*S
    I think he is trying to make a different point. If you convert 70 Euros in to US dollars, it's around $102. But if the prices were listed in US currency, I doubt TomTom would be charging close to $100 for the new map. My guess is they would be sold for $80.
     
    EricL, Feb 19, 2008
    #15
  16. infama

    Goblin

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, as I can see, new maps for North America on the TomTom site cost 49.95EUR, but if you want to buy new maps from withing Tomtom Home, they are listed 'just' for 69.95EUR :( What a heck? And, I've tried to buy maps with 'home', but it says something like 'yeah, you can buy it, but it will not fit on internal memory, you should buy additional SD card' :( WHAT???
    Any comments, please?
     
    Goblin, Feb 19, 2008
    #16
  17. infama

    EricL

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE XL*S
    My first comment, TomTom Home is a crap piece of software.

    What I would do is first back up your current map to your computer. Then delete the map from your TomTom. You should then be able to get the new maps without being told you need additional memory.
     
    EricL, Feb 19, 2008
    #17
  18. infama

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    What happens when you try through TTHome's map guarantee? If you don't get it that way and if you indeed have had the unit for < 30 days, I'd call support TODAY!
     
    dhn, Feb 19, 2008
    #18
  19. infama

    bootprint

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Mississauga, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT1 3rd
    Is there any way to preview maps before purchase?
     
    bootprint, Feb 19, 2008
    #19
  20. infama

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    No, unfortunately.

    What some users do if they wish to see whether a certain street, address, area, etc. is improved in the new map they're interested in is to put a call out here with a location and see if somebody with a new map can provide a screenshot. Often works.
     
    dhn, Feb 19, 2008
    #20
    1 person likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.