New 720: Don't want to mess it up. Help please.

I'm very nervous about starting up our new 720. I read the sticky about what to do before using your tomtom but it seems like it an old thread. For example, step #4 states: Turn on your 910. If it needs some juice?put it on the dock and give it some power but DO NOT hook it up to the computer yet. The only dock we have hooks only to the computer via USB. I'm working with a Mac powerbook fyi.
Do I still need to perform this 'back up' that the thread refers to?
What the heck is firmware? and how do I know which version I have?
How do I make sure I have the most up-to-date maps?? (our street is not recognized and it's been here for about 5 years)

I'm a total rookie with the tomtom and not exactly a computer genius..I'm very nervous to mess something up! I need some input for all the experts out there...
Any help appreciated!!

Take a deep breath..........it ain't that hard.

First, use Finder in a Mac to copy all contents of the unit to a folder on the computer. Don't use Home's backup function, it isn't as reliable. For Windows, we advise to make sure hidden folders/files are showing. Don't know the equivalent instruction for a Mac but, whatever it is, do it. :D

Next, you can tell the firmware (operating system on the unit) by tapping the satellite bars. The next screen shows the FIRMWARE version. Okay, tap the version number and the nextscreen shows the map installed, the version and Build number.

Next.....the latest map for a 720 is version 8.15. Not likely that was installed with your unit out of the box. But, you have to upgrade your FIRMWARE to version 8.3 to make use of the map.

I don't know what the FIRMWARE version will show when you tap the satellite bars. It may be 8x but not likely 8.3.

Connect your unit and start Home. You may be offered a newer version of Home. If so, select and install. Then, If your firmware was 8x, it may offer 8.3 as a download. So, accept it.