Need some help in creating ITN files!


Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3
Hi Guys,

I have a TomTom Go LIVE 1005 and have only been using it for basic A to B navigation so far. Its my first Sat Nav - and love it!!

Now I would like to create custom routes and have some questions that I hope you can help with. Apologies in advance if they are already answered on the forum, but I tried searching :)

1. Searching on here and web, I found an application called Tyre but it doesn't appear to work on Mac. Can someone suggest a similar application that works for Mac?

2. Also tried using this link Tomtom and Google but it doesn't seem to work for my test route that I mapped out. No idea what I'm doing wrong here!

3. What is the maximum number of waypoints that I can have on a route? I think I saw somewhere that it is 48 but a maximum of 4 waypoints on current TomToms but not sure if that applies to the 1005 or not. If it is only 4 then that is quite limiting.

Cheers,
Rohan
 
Ad

Advertisements

mikealder

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
3,199
Location
Blackpool UK
TomTom Model(s)
720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
Most normal TomTom units support itineraries with up to 48 waypoints in them, the newer units that rely upon MyTomTom as the interface with the PC can support only 4 waypoints. I think they call it progress but its yet another backward step IMHO.
As your unit only supports 4 waypoints I would think about adding them straight in to the device rather than bothering with planning them on the computer - Mike
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3
Cheers for the quick reply Mike.

Pity that I can only use 4 waypoints...was hoping to plan some extensive driving routes in Wales!

I guess people who have the current models just sub divide their routes to get around this limitation?
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
421
TomTom Model(s)
340S TM (2011), ONE XL (2008)
I guess people who have the current models just sub divide their routes to get around this limitation?
I'd give it a go!

1. Searching on here and web, I found an application called Tyre but it doesn't appear to work on Mac. Can someone suggest a similar application that works for Mac?
There is some information here which *may* be helpful for Mac users.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,251
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Cheers for the quick reply Mike.

Pity that I can only use 4 waypoints...was hoping to plan some extensive driving routes in Wales!

I guess people who have the current models just sub divide their routes to get around this limitation?
Yes, it's unfortunate. Believe me, TomTom have had an earful about itinerary planning on these new units.

A suggestion to ease the pain, however slightly. Create your own custom POI for your unit. Add each of your waypoints to that POI. You'll need a paper list of the sequence, or you'll have to add a leading 1: 2: 3: to all of them, but at least you will be able to avoid having to poke in the location data as you travel - you can do it all in advance.

As you reach each successive point, manually ask your unit to navigate to the next one.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3
Thanks Alfie67 and canderson - will try your suggestions.

Hopefully TomTom will address this shortcoming soon! :)

Cheers
 
Ad

Advertisements

Andy_P

Moderator
Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Messages
4,683
Location
London, UK.
TomTom Model(s)
Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
Hopefully TomTom will address this shortcoming soon! :)

Cheers
Please try to find the time to email or ring them about it.
It's only by getting a weight of customer complaints behind an issue that will prompt them to do anything about it.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top