NA 720 vs Canada/Alaska 720

Discussion in 'TomTom News & Announcements' started by rcacs, May 24, 2008.

  1. rcacs

    rcacs

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Morden, Manitoba, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider 2
    Would I be safe in assuming the only diff is that the NA covers all of the States and Canada vs the Can/Alaska version showing only Canada and Alaska?

    What I mean is, would the 2 maps show any different detail of Canada itself?

    Cheers
     
    rcacs, May 24, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. rcacs

    46jimbo

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT ONE v1
    That's right. The smaller one is just cut out of the larger one. You would be duplicating your map coverage if you bought it.
     
    46jimbo, May 24, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. rcacs

    rcacs

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Morden, Manitoba, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider 2
    Thanks, I kinda figured that. I was hoping that maybe, just maybe it might show the 4 lane divided hwy out of my town. It has been there for 12 years, and only shows as a 2 lane undivided on my 675 and 715 maps.

    Cheers,
     
    rcacs, May 25, 2008
    #3
  4. rcacs

    RNorrell

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Classic, ONE, ONEXL, Garmin, 2 920T
    A check with Tomtom should let you know the main difference between the two versions is the number of pois. Check out the acutal files on both versions. You will find a much larger poi file on the North American.
    Tomtom will not allow the larger version to be added to a low end unit, ONE, ONEXL, etc. You must purchase a more expensive unit to have the maps installed. The difference in size for the old versions was 1.4GB for North Amer and .9GB for US_Canada. I was able to trick the last ver on my XL. If you have both sets of data you can add the larger POI database file to the US_Canada ver for the extra POIs.
     
    RNorrell, Jun 2, 2008
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.