Moving the map to an SDHC card

So many thanks for the help getting out of my last situation!

minor crisis

I am up for giving it another go :)

I have a 4gb SDHC card, and I want to move the map from my 720 INTERNAL memory to that card.

I subscribe to the Map Update programme, Safety Cameras, and Map Share corrections. I'd like them all still to work.

How do I got about this?

I have a fully working (thanks!) up to date 720, and a blank SDHC card.

Yours, slightly trembling
amjb

Back up your map folder to your PC (always better safe than sorry, right?) Actually, it's best to always have a full backup of the entire unit done this way -- if you haven't already.

Move the ENTIRE map folder from your internal to the SD card. Don't leave a copy behind on the internal.

:confused: I'm new at the workings of the TomTom. How do you move the Map folder from the internal to the SDHC? I have it backed up in Windows Explorer.

Your guidance is greatly appreciated. I have a TT GO 630 (app 8.351 Map 845.2645)

Simply use Explorer to copy the map folder from internal to the sdhc card. Once assured that it is there (with all its contents, of course), delete the folder from internal.

Next stupid question....

The card I was planning on using is a Class 2 card. Is that likely to cause problems? I know the perceived wisdom is the faster the better, but would Class 2 be actually bad (or just a little bit slower than ideal)?

Thanks again.

It may cause problems with slowness of data retrieval by the application. I'd go for a minimum of class 4.

With class 2, you may see a screen refresh so slow that your exit is missed; it could happen, I think.

OK - so slight delay whilst I obtain a class 6 4gb card :)

Now it has arrived, and I have loaded the Western Europe map onto it, and deleted that map from the TomTom Internal drive.

The TomTom works perfectly - no issues.

However, I cannot get the TomTom Home software to behave in a reasonable manner. Here are my steps...