Moving Stores & Correcting Roads

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Carolyn, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. Carolyn

    Carolyn

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One 3rd Edition
    I'm a brand new TomTom One 3rd edition owner and having lots of fun with it. But I have a couple questions. No doubt these have been asked many times before, so I'm sure someone has canned answers for them!! :eek: I've noticed a couple wrong items in my mapping and I wonder how to fix or correct them.

    Eg. my current mapping shows an old route to a new road that has opened and the old route has now been closed. My TomTom shows me out in the woods. Is there a way I can drive and mark the new road and delete the other one??

    Also in several cases some gas stations and a couple major retailers have closed at one location and moved to a new location. How do I edit the old location to reflect the new address?

    Thanks

    Carolyn
     
    Carolyn, Jan 5, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Carolyn

    Carolyn

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One 3rd Edition
    Also for Geo-caching?

    Also, can we use our TomTom One 3rd for Geo-caching? A sport we just discovered reading about our GPS on the internet. Does our TomTom handle LOC, GPX or KML files or do we need something to convert or we just can't do it with our GPS Unit?

    Thanks

    Carolyn
     
    Carolyn, Jan 5, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Carolyn

    F22

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    pacific northWET
    I believe you can block roads on some tomtom devices but I don't know about that one. With Mapshare (if available on your device) you can basically inform tomtom about a road change but that probably won't be reflected until new maps are issued.

    On my 920, yesterday I was able to move a poi for a restaurant to its more proper location across the street - I think it was under a CorrectMap type button on the screen.

    Most car-oriented devices are not very good off-road but I don't know about your device. Also battery life might not get you there and back!
     
    F22, Jan 5, 2008
    #3
  4. Carolyn

    Targonis

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    TomTom Model(s):
    Tomtom 930
    Map Share requires map version 675 or later as well as application version 7. In addition to this, I believe you also need Tomtom Home version 2 or later.

    At this point, I know that application version 7 is not available for all devices, but Tomtom is working to release application 7 versions for all products that CAN handle the updates. This means that some older devices may never get version 7 support.
     
    Targonis, Jan 5, 2008
    #4
  5. Carolyn

    Medic

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    5
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    Correction of roads are not reflective immediately on the device (ie/ using MapShare to correct the map &/or going to TeleAtlas to note a map correction).

    However, corrections to POIs are reflected on the device immediately, to move a POI, you can just go to Edit POI and move it on the map, or alternatively you can delete one POI and add the POI new again.

    There is a thread about correcting POIs:
    Look here

    --Phil
     
    Medic, Jan 6, 2008
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.