Mini USB Connector Broken

I bought a TomTom 1 XL 2 years ago, I am a truck driver and rely heavily on this product, I got what I thought was the best one on the market at the time........$560 here in Australia, however, the mini usb connector on the bottom is faulty, and TomTom dont want to know, I was quoted $400 to get it fixed....What? I might as well just buy a Navman

In future, if Icant get this repaired at a decent price, Ill be changing to NavMan.....its cheaper and has a real plug for the power, not a rubbish mini usb connector......Shame on you TomTom.

Does anyone know of a repairer here in Adelaide who can repair these at a reasonable price?

Regards,
Paul

(This is my 1st post and Im sorry its a whinge)

Sorry for your problem, Paul.........

Look for supermod, Mikealder, to respond here with 24 hours. He probably knows more about taking things apart (and putting them together, of course) than anybody here.......

He may be able to suggest how you can go about getting a replacement usb port or fix the one you have if at all possible.

If he doesn't reply, send him a pm.

Lets start with a look at how to get at the damaged socket, if you don't feel happy taking the device to bits you can always print this and take it to someone who does have the skill set to take the device to bits and use a fine tipped soldering iron - The Mini USB sockets are available as a spare part from some retailers, fitting them isn't too easy though.
Here is how to get in to the device:

Lay the unit screen side down and remove the four Torx size 8 screws

Use your thumb nails to pry apart the two halves of the case

Separate the two halves take care as there are still the wires between the two parts holding it together

A close up of the Mini USB socket:

Mike