Miles VS Kilometers

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by dragerboat, Aug 2, 2009.

  1. dragerboat

    dragerboat

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys, i have a tom tom 3rd edition and everything works great except i can`t seem to get the voices to navigate my directions in Kilometers instead of miles, while it does display Kms, the audio does not.. I live in Canada where the metric system is the norm so Kms would be my first choice of preference. I have tried different voices, my option is set at Kilometer, i even did a hard reset and chose UK English as option when setting it up.Am i missing something here or is this unit stuck with miles only option. I would really like to hear from some of you with advice on how to fix this.

    Thanks Guys In Advance
     
    dragerboat, Aug 2, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. dragerboat

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,426
    Likes Received:
    393
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You should be able to use kilometers. UK English probably won't do it since they use miles over there.

    Do a complete Explorer, not Home, backup of your unit's contents. Ensure hidden files/folders are showing.

    When you say a 'hard reset', are you referring to holding the power button on your model for 15 seconds? (unless your model has a dedicated reset hole). Both methods describe a 'soft reset'. Retuen to factory defaults is a hard reset (where you lose all your custom settings .... including units of measurement setup).

    Try the clear flash tool found here. Download and run it 3 times.

    If the reset doesn't help and the clear flash doesn't help AND you do have an Explorer backup, then use Home to remove all voices. Then use Home to add Voices again, after your measurements are set for kilometers.
     
    dhn, Aug 2, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. dragerboat

    Wildboy3

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi. I'm a newbie too but I just had a flash... Could it be because you picked a UK English COMPUTER voice? I would try other voices as well to see if it changed anything. Come to think of it, I picked a US COMPUTER voice and it gives me directions in meters and kms...

    Just a thought.

    JF
     
    Wildboy3, Aug 2, 2009
    #3
  4. dragerboat

    p5ku

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've got a UK voice (Jane) and she certainly uses m and km. I believe that when I got my GPS, the default voice did not use metric, only mi and yards. Try a different voice and see if that helps.
     
    p5ku, Aug 2, 2009
    #4
  5. dragerboat

    dragerboat

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    The default settings was the hard reset i have done. I have backed up my tom tom 3 ways.1= Home2 backup, 2= copied everything from directory folder to separate folder, and 3= going into my computer and then properties and choosing backup files on this volume.I have Win XP Pro so i`m guessing when you say use explorer as a backup "dhn", this is the option ??. I read that i should use the U.S voice " Lori " as my default and that it should work. I haven`t yet tried it but i will give it a go..
    Thanks Again Fellas :D
     
    dragerboat, Aug 3, 2009
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Uncle Ben

    Changed units from Miles to Kilometres ...

    Uncle Ben, Oct 24, 2007, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,636
    digital-flex
    Oct 24, 2007
  2. Majarvis
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,679
    Majarvis
    Dec 25, 2007
  3. PiratePast40

    Tom Tom One 3000 miles off!

    PiratePast40, Jan 24, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    2,518
    dbrown708
    Feb 5, 2008
  4. reggavegga

    closest poi 200 miles away

    reggavegga, Feb 19, 2008, in forum: TomTom POI Requests
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,425
    Giorgio57
    Feb 27, 2008
  5. tbil99

    Kilometers and Miles

    tbil99, Mar 1, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    21
    Views:
    3,243
    joe_peddos
    Apr 1, 2012
  6. fcraven

    POI within 50 miles, 100 miles

    fcraven, Jun 23, 2008, in forum: System Configuration and Customization
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,082
    Pajoe
    Jul 22, 2008
  7. Hondo

    Getting Tyre to Show Miles Instead of Kilometers

    Hondo, Feb 19, 2009, in forum: TomTom 3rd Party Software
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,625
    Hondo
    Feb 19, 2009
  8. solid71
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    999
    solid71
    Jan 1, 2010
Loading...