Memory Card Questions for ONE XL

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by mred, Mar 13, 2008.

  1. mred

    mred

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL
    I was thinking of buying a SD memory card for my TomTom ONE XL for either extra maps or the 2GB North America map.

    What SD cards are compatible with the ONE XL (brand, rating, speed, etc.)?
    What is the max memory speed I should buy?
    What is the difference between SD and SDHC?
    How much memory is too much?
    What SD cards won't work?
    Is there anything else I should know about buying a memory card for my XL?

    Does anyone know the speed of the internal memory on the ONE XL?
     
    mred, Mar 13, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. mred

    Birdman

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Jericho, VT
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 920
    I've seen users report the 4GB SD (not SDHC) cards from Transcend (150x) and TopRam (class 6) work.

    Get the faster you can to insure no slowdown in map performance.

    SDHC = Secure Digital High Capacity (doesn't work on an XL)

    Never too much memory

    Most 2GB SD card brands work.
     
    Birdman, Mar 14, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. mred

    GhostRing

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE-XL
    As far as 2GBs go, should I still get the fastest possible - or will a "regular" card be just fine?
    (I'm not sure I want to fork out the $$ for the 150x 4GB just yet...)
     
    GhostRing, Mar 14, 2008
    #3
  4. mred

    Birdman

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Jericho, VT
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 920
    That is a debatable discussion. Some people have used regular cards and stated that they didn't see any performance issues....other have said they saw performance issues until they bought a faster card.

    Kind of a crappy answer, but there isn't a consistent answer.
     
    Birdman, Mar 14, 2008
    #4
  5. mred

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    You cannot use the NA map if you're currently using the USA_Canada map. I believe that's the standard map for the ONE XL. Tom Tom has restricted the use of maps only to certain units.
     
    Smokiewolf, Mar 14, 2008
    #5
  6. mred

    singlestack

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    GSP
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL ? S
    So I'm stuck with the USA_Canada "1GB" map? No way to buy/upgrade to the NA map at all for my XL-S?
     
    singlestack, Mar 29, 2008
    #6
  7. mred

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    That's correct. You would have to buy a 720/920 series to use the NA maps
     
    Smokiewolf, Mar 29, 2008
    #7
  8. mred

    fabiorcosta

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problems

    hi there
    Im from Brazil and Got a TOMTOM ONE XL here w/ brazilian maps. I also bought a 2GB Sandisk SD Card but didnt not successfull. does anybody have a step-bystep on how to install the maps on the SD? I even tried to copy all the content from device to sd but didnt get!
    thanks in advance
     
    fabiorcosta, Mar 31, 2008
    #8
  9. mred

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I have read that if you connect your Tom Tom to your computer with the USB cable (unit turned off), then insert the disk, HOME will recognize that the disk needs the o/s, map, etc, and load it onto the disk. Also, be aware that the ONEs are not compatible with HC disks. I'm not sure if they make 2gb HC cards, but if yours is a HC card, it won't work.
     
    Smokiewolf, Mar 31, 2008
    #9
  10. mred

    fabiorcosta

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not worked

    hi friend
    I ve also read that item. But I did exactly as the manual but no success!!!!
     
    fabiorcosta, Mar 31, 2008
    #10
  11. mred

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Do you have a separate card reader for the SD disk?
     
    Smokiewolf, Mar 31, 2008
    #11
  12. mred

    fabiorcosta

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    No HC

    What do you call a HC Card? Mine is a Sandisk 2Gb. Not any text about HC. Ive also tried a Kingston 1Gb - No HC Markl. and didnt work also.

    Regards
     
    fabiorcosta, Apr 1, 2008
    #12
  13. mred

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2


    :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:
     
    Smokiewolf, Apr 1, 2008
    #13
  14. mred

    fabiorcosta

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi

    Yes I do.
    Anda also tried to copy the files using my card reader. Simply dont work. Im almost returnig the device and get one from another trade.

    tks
    Fabio
     
    fabiorcosta, Apr 1, 2008
    #14
  15. mred

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Try reformatting the disk to FAT32, and then reload the data onto it. give that a shot.
     
    Smokiewolf, Apr 1, 2008
    #15
  16. mred

    singlestack

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    GSP
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL ? S
    Hmm, I got an e-mail from TomTom today that told me new maps were available. The link is showing 847.6MB maps and 2000MB maps. See my post here w/ screen shots:

    https://www.tomtomforums.com/showpost.php?p=61900&postcount=50
     
    singlestack, May 28, 2008
    #16
  17. mred

    sab

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    540M XXL
    I installed a 2G SD card and loaded my orginal content on to it. I have a problem where the unit will not turn on with the SD card in it unless I pull it out and reinstall it OR if I have the unit plugged to the computer.

    Anyone have any solutions for this?

    Thanks
     
    sab, May 29, 2008
    #17
  18. mred

    flyer1024

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    TomTom Model(s):
    one
    With the card in, turn on the unit. then do a pin reset, holding the pin in for five seconds or so. next time you press the on button, it should work.

    you have to repeat this precedure every time you remove the sd card.
     
    flyer1024, May 29, 2008
    #18
    1 person likes this.
  19. mred

    sab

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    540M XXL

    Thank you sir :) .
     
    sab, May 29, 2008
    #19
    1 person likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.