May I use external SD card for storage??

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by nedusia, Sep 14, 2007.

  1. nedusia

    nedusia

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello!
    I got go720. On the support site I found, that I can use external SD card for aditional storage. I try everything to set up that card: created a directory folder and t.t.,loaded with mp3, but when I disconecting my tomtom from pc,screen shows SD card with red cross,and device not even boots up until card is not removed from device. I called to customer support and they told me: sd card slot is for additional maps only, is not for personal storage.
    Is that true? I need my mp3 files in my tomtom(internal memory just got about 450mb free).
    Is the anybody can help,please?
    Thank You!
     
    nedusia, Sep 14, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. nedusia

    ptco911

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manhattan, KS
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    See my post in this thread regarding "Giving Up". I had same issues with two different cards and am very leary of Tom Tom support and this particular model at this point and time. I just don't think the product was ready when they released it.

    https://www.tomtomforums.com/showthread.php?t=3440
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2007
    ptco911, Sep 15, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. nedusia

    46jimbo

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT ONE v1
    46jimbo, Sep 15, 2007
    #3
  4. nedusia

    ptco911

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manhattan, KS
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    I will again go back to my assertion that Tom Tom is not clear about the use of the SD card and any special requirements for its use or type. The lease they could do is put minimum card specs required out. They have been aloof in a lot of things regarding the 720.:mad:
     
    ptco911, Sep 15, 2007
    #4
  5. nedusia

    nedusia

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally it works

    Thank You guys for Your help.
    <ptco911>I am reallly agree with Your opinion about TomTom support, cause I spoke with another guy from TomTom support yesterday,he said that I need install tomtom application to my external card to make it work.:) :) :) How?
    He said try to update the card thru tomtom home.
    Of cause it does't works. That shows how "professional" they are.
    So finally I tryed already my 3rd card (Kingston Ultimate 120x 2GB) from my camera.
    And it WORKS!!!!
    So maybe we need to use a high speed SD cards to make it work?????
     
    nedusia, Sep 15, 2007
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.