Maps up date will not load


Joined
Oct 18, 2021
Messages
8
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
NB1 built in a MX5
I have a NB1sat nav in a Mazda CX5. I purchased a map update through the Tom Tom official site. Following the instructions I down loaded the Tom Tom Home application. On starting the map up date was asked to insert SD card, Home recognised it, and the process started.
The 1st message stated that the SD did not have sufficient room and would delete the old maps, this was done. The down load to home started, it then stopped
giving an error message. It said to close all down and try again. This I have done 8 times. The down load stalls at the same place , same error message.
I have tried many of the help suggestions on the Tom Tom site, still to no avail. If I put the SD card in the Sat Nav, no maps message comes up.
I can find no way to contact Tom Tom, so a a Car with a non working Sat nav. Can any one please help to sort this mess out. As it would appear that the up date will not load to home. It has not even tried to write to sd card.
 

Attachments

Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,493
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
These downloads are quite long, and as the warning message in your *.pdf notes, you need to be sure that whatever computer you are using doesn't go into 'sleep mode' while the download is happening. Any chance that is what is happening to you?

What is the size of your SD card?
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2021
Messages
8
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
NB1 built in a MX5
I am using a laptop and it is not going into sleep mode.
I have enclosed a PDF that shows Home says that their is sufficient room for the update to be applied to disk.
The down load is not loading on to home, so the down load has not even been able to be applied to the disk.
Every time I try to down load it stops at the same place. This takes about 5 min, I have even tried linking direct to the server.
we are on super fast fibre broad band.
Hope this helps.
Many thanks
 

Attachments

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,493
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Yes, I understand that you have not been able to download the update, and so it has not been possible to use that update to apply to your device's SD card.

What happens if you select a slightly smaller map zone - something other than Zone 8? That will cause a different file to be made available for download.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2021
Messages
8
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
NB1 built in a MX5
I have tried this and the same fault occurs at the same point.
The update was purchased from Tom Tom web site NOT
Home. I was wondering if this will make a difference.
In Home if I look in the Manage my |Device their is no down loads in the install from computer.
Many thanks for your help
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 18, 2021
Messages
8
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
NB1 built in a MX5
The update is not on the laptop. The web site shows purchase completed with an order no. That is all I have.
I have checked the LT and no mapup dates have been down loaded.
I do appreciate your help, as Tom Tom seem to be invisible, as the phone numbers given have been discontinued, and I can not find an e mail.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2021
Messages
8
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
NB1 built in a MX5
Many thanks have tried that before, and all it does it takes you in a loop, as this an automatic system, not a person.
I know it is very frustrating, as you can not get to talk, e mail a real person.
I feel Tom Tom dont give a fig about customers.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2021
Messages
8
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
NB1 built in a MX5
I have finally found an e mail address for tom tom. (e-mail address removed). Beware all they seem to do is refer you to the "Help" articles that are on the Tom Tom web site, they are useful as a chocolate tea pot. The problem of the maps not loading appears to be SD Card size. The card supplied with the unit is 4GB, the down load is in the region of 10GB. The help desk are adamant that you have to use a Mazda card, but they are only 4GB. If a generic card is used and formatted correctly, I can not understand how this may damage the Car unit. Am I correct in this assumption.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,809
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
I do not know your device. Older versions came with a straight SD card, not a microSD card and cannot read from the latter (as I found out sorely for my GO 930 when I could not find a straight one over 8GB.)
Have you asked a Mazda dealer to give you a price to update your device, even if you do not want to pay that.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 18, 2021
Messages
8
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
NB1 built in a MX5
The car is only 5 years old. The SD Card is not a Micro one. I can get a SD Card 15, 32 or 64 GB no problem.
Mazda GB have told me that they do not support Tom Tom any more, and have moved to a new provider. They only have 4GB cards these are preloaded, with a map 4/5 years out of date, and cost £300. They also said I would have to link a new card to the Unit, this would involve re formatting, and so loosing the maps loaded, back where I am now.
All I want to know is can I use a normal SD Card , not Mazda, as I can get one in 15 minutes my local computer shop sells them.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,493
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
The card supplied with the unit is 4GB, the down load is in the region of 10GB.
Does TomTom no longer offer map zones that would, individually, fit on a 4GB card?

What's happened is that the amount of geometry in the maps has grown exponentially. Parking lots are incorporated now, which sounds trivial, but can be essential to actually finding your way properly to an address. I distinctly recall back when if a building were far offset from its actual 'street' and backed up to what you'd call an "M" road, a TomTom would dump you off on the closest point of the shoulder of the M road!
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2021
Messages
8
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
NB1 built in a MX5
Thanks for the help. I have got a 32GB SDHC card. Formatted it as per Tom Tom help guide , took 2hrs. Then put in Sat Nav to match the 2 together. Down load then took 35 min. Works no problem. The most important part is to follow the Tom Tom format instructions. Do NOT do a quick format, set the parameters as per the guide.
I was told by a computer wiz kid that the size of the card does not matter, as all you are doing is loading data. As he told me most people don't use the full memory in any computer, so a larger sd card is no problem.
Hope this helps other as I have had a very frustrating 2 weeks. I will never get a Tom Tom sat nav again, Garmin here I come.
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,493
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
If you find a Garmin as old as your NB1 (which is what we call a Nav2 device, and the last of that generation was sold 9 years ago), let us know it goes with large (10GB) map updates! A lot of devices back then (including TomTom's) couldn't properly handle SDHC cards the way your NB1 will.

I'm still curious to know if they're still offering smaller map segments over the web in the UK (per posts 4 and 13) that would still fit the original 4GB card. Don't have visibility to that here. I can see segments, but can't start the process to see the size. Most users with older devices can't handle the big maps now.

TomTom does specify SDHC cards (4-32GB) for the NB1 device, and it's the only Nav2 TomTom device that ever claimed that in their specs. Other Nav2 devices could often read an SDHC card OK, but fail when writing. The OS couldn't juggle the bytes necessary to successfully generate the addresses. Your whiz kid's advice wouldn't have worked on anything else Nav2. You are fortunate to have the outlier device!

I also never asked in the beginning, but should have -- were you trying to download to the card or to your PC originally?
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top