map zoom level

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by redline, Feb 12, 2007.

  1. redline

    redline

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone

    I have had my TT one since jan and I am loving it.

    There are only 2 issues that are driving me nuts.

    1. maps. My home that I have moved into for 7 years is still not listed. Google has it, mapquest has it. TOMTOM, NOPE!.
    Is there anyway I can manually add or pay to add my home? I have tried to order the new map but according to tomtom my one has the latest maps.
    :(



    2. MAP ZOOM level.

    This one drives my nuts.
    is there anyway to fix the zoom level so that tomtom does not zoom in and out. I only ask this because I like to see maps at different zoom levels. if I am in a new town or city I like the default you get when you have no route planed so that I can learn the streets.

    However when I do plan a route it zooms into turns. this is frustrating because I like to see how sharp of a turn I am about to enter.

    I hope someone can help me with these.

    other wise my research come to the next to perfect GPS I could find. I won't mention all the gps systems i have tried to even in car that are worthless.

    tomtom's re-routing despite not being 100% perfect actulay saves me at least 10mins a day. does't sound like much but 10 mins at the end of the week is nearly 1 hour i have back for myself.
     
    redline, Feb 12, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. redline

    battom

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    28
    From your house.... Turn your ONE on, browse map, click the compass in the upper right hand corner to have the map "zoom" to your current location. Then click the blue crosshair and select save as favorite.

    Mark that favorite as HOME.

    I'll try to get back to you on # 2...
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2007
    battom, Feb 12, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. redline

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Great suggestion Battom. I like this option better than inputing an address because it's usually a bit off.

    #2: There is no option to keep a zoom at a certain level. I agree with your statement. There are times when you need to know certain sharp turns. For this I switch back and forth from 3d view to 2d view. I notice that 3d view works best when on the freeways. 2d views has it's advantages. Especially when you want to explore more of a city without having a route calculated.
     
    Pedro2NR, Feb 13, 2007
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.