Major update to Easymenu devices


mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,438
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
Tomtom has just released app 9.150 to the XL and XXL EasyMenu models.

This appears to be an about-face on Tomtom's part, returning many (but not all) of the features from earlier models that were removed in new EasyMenu models.

New features include:
- Custom POI support
- POI on map view
- Route details (map view, text view, etc)
- Route demo
- Planning preferences
- Volume preferences

It looks like Tomtom got the message that customers were unhappy with all the feature removal on the Easymenu system.
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
9
As I have only owned my device for a few days, I thought I had just missed those features the first time around. Thanks!

Has anyone noticed that TTS has become EXTREMELY unreliable since the 9.150 update? It was rock solid when I first bought my unit, since updating I often only get the first instruction on my route and then silence from then on. If I use the "test" button for a computer (TTS) voice, half of the time I get silence or a long delay before speech starts.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2010
Messages
1
You're right mvl

mvl - you beat me to this one as I procrastinate in typing it in.

Anyways - with the new update most features are available as you suggest.

One of the features from the tweaked tomtom.mnu file does not work at all.
The TASK_SET_COMPASS shows 4 options but it jumps back to 'None'. I don't have the PND in my hand to type in other three options. Compass option was selectable in 9.103 version I had on the unit. Do not have bacup or the cab files to go back to old version.

Wish they added altitude to the status bar. There is a link elsewhere in the forum that shows altitude on top left next to the '+' symbol. It works OK but I'm not sure if the readings are correct. I was at a location that Garmin showed as 153 feet where as TT showed it as 14 meters?

I will post later after uncovering more.
 

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,438
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
Has anyone noticed that TTS has become EXTREMELY unreliable since the 9.150 update? It was rock solid when I first bought my unit, since updating I often only get the first instruction on my route and then silence from then on. If I use the "test" button for a computer (TTS) voice, half of the time I get silence or a long delay before speech starts.
How may points of interest categories do you have showing in map view? If you have more than a couple, it slows the CPU down, and could cause things like delayed TTS.
 

FNX

Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
2
I was initially (see below) delighted over the weekend when my brand-new XL got updated and I found the extra items.

I'd previously used my parents' TomTom a couple of years ago, so knew I was missing out when I finally bought myself one. I'd even been usnig the menu-edit hack to fiddle with some bits and bobs hiden in the simplified menu, but had been putting things back afterwards (leaving the options changed) as I have actually come to prefer the new simplified system, at least in its basic look and feel.

The new update gives us, IMHO, te best of both worlds: more configurable (like being able to omit motorways, avoid roads on a route, etc.), but also more usable. There are some things missing still (the compass seems to have compleetly gone now, and there's no itnerary access, e.g.), but nothing I'm worried about.

However, I've now just noticed that I've lost the built-in safety camera stuff; has any one else still got that after the update?

When I did my first map update after purchase a fortnight ago, I lost the safety stuff completely, inc. the enable/disable pref. but I manmagde to figure out that it was a POI file in the maps dir. that had been blatted, and that I had fortunately backed up. I put that back in and it burst back into life.

Now, however, I know it thinks it's there as the enable/disable button isn't greyed out, but the only alerts I get are those I've added myself via the 'report camera' icon on the driving view - and that button has now gone too.

I guess I'll report it to support, but I figured out the other issue before them last tmie, so I won't hold my breath.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2010
Messages
10
I noticed that since the update, my TomTom is sluggish, and if the volume is 90% or more, it is really quiet. Has anyone else noticed these issues and know how to resolve them? Thanks.
 
Ad

Advertisements

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,438
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
Did you try reducing the number of POI on map view, to help reduce the sluggishness?

I'm not aware of any way to work around the volume.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
22
Location
Finland
TomTom Model(s)
XL IQR 2 Traffic (Euro)
I phoned TomTom Support two days ago and asked if they had plans to provide a full menu system for the Easy /Simplified versions. They told me "No.. as it is designed for Users that just want to get from A to B". Therefore based on this I returned it and ordered the older XL IQ Routes.

However the older European XL IQ Routes does NOT have TTS so this is great news as I will re-order XL IQ Routes? Europe again and have all the features I require (TTS, ALG, full menus, all black design) :)

Great site and lots of useful information here by the way.
 
Last edited:

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,438
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
However the older European XL IQ Routes does NOT have TTS so this is great news as I will re-order XL IQ Routes? Europe again and have all the features I require (TTS, ALG, full menus, all black design) :)
This firmware doesn't add the "full" menus, just the features I listed. There are other features of the old IQroutes models that are still missing.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
22
Location
Finland
TomTom Model(s)
XL IQR 2 Traffic (Euro)
Thanks mvl

As long as these items are added then I am a happy chap..

Route details (map view, text view, etc)
- Route demo
- Planning preferences

Do you know if this update gives you a full alpha numeric keyboard or is this one of the missing items?
 

ApK

Joined
Aug 20, 2009
Messages
44
Great update

This update has made me feel much better about our purchase of the XL350TM. At the discounted price we paid, the lifetime maps and traffic were nice, but not being able to browse the route details or avoid a specific piece made it just about useless for us. We had used the menu hacks and were happy with that, but it's good to have those features in an officially support way, plus we get back the map correction and help me features (and I'll just have to learn to get over the loss of the compass). I'm very pleased with Tomtom about this.
I haven't had the unit on the road since the update, but I'll cross my fingers that we don't have the volume and TTS issues that some people have described. Or that if we do, a fix from Tomtom will be quickly forthcoming.
Now if they'd only provide fixes and updates for my Go630....

I have one question: several people have mentioned being glad the route demo feature is there. What exactly is the point of that feature? I've been trying to think of a use for it other than store displays and training, but haven't come up with anything.

Thanks,

ApK
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,146
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
I find a route demo somewhat more useful than viewing the route by image or text. Gives a sense of just how far you really are travelling on what specific road.

Also shows what pois you'll pass if you've selected to show categories on map. The other two methods don't show them

Be advised that route demos only show the first 50 km (30 miles) of any route and then start over.
 

FNX

Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
2
My XL with this update has route demo (fakes a run through the route) & planning prefs. (ignore motorway, ask about tolls, etc.). That latter looks like what I remember of the old menu; it runs across 3-4 pages of options.

The keyboard can have its size changed, but still ONLY (IIRC) shows letters on one page, them digits etc., on other pages. A bit of a faff switching between letters and digits, but I can live with it.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2010
Messages
10
Thanks. Yea I do have a lot of POI, but I did before the update too unless the update added even more. I will see how it goes on my way home from work. I think the volume might be related to that setting for scaling the volume to the car speed. It was even quiet on 85% with that setting sometimes. I turned it off and 85 was ok but 90+ was still quiet. I will see how 85 is with the box unchecked on my way home from work too.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2010
Messages
10
Turning off some of the POI types worked, and with the scale volume to car speed off, the volume never went low on 85%, but it still is low at 90% or higher (weird). Thanks.

Matt Arnold
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
9
Turning off a bunch of POI types didn't help much at all.

However, I've noticed when trying volume changes that I'd hear TTS when at "low" volumes but silence at 100% - I should play with this more, I wonder if maybe on my unit "low volume above 90" is "silent above 90 in most cases".
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 10, 2010
Messages
7
Location
Glasgow, UK
TomTom Model(s)
XL IQ Routes Europe Edition 2
App 9.150 Sound Problem

I'm new to this forum but have been following this thread for a few days. I bought an XL IQ Routes Europe Edition2 a few weeks ago and this being my first Sat Nav I used it everywhere I went on known routes to check out its capabilities before I would use it for real. Seemed to work perfectly wth volume on max and 2 POIs set on map. Then I updated the App to 9.150 and appreciated all the new facilities and options to play with but found very quickly that the audio commands were VERY erratic. One or two at the start of the journey then silence or just the occassional fragment of an instruction. Following this thread I reduced POIs to zero and cut volume to 85%. The reduction of POI's made no difference but reducing volume to 85% did (Although still not acceptably reliable). Tried customer support from the TT website. They suggested reinstalling LoquendoTTS and resetting the device. All this succeeded in doing was losing my Kate UK computer voice (With no way at present to replace it according to TT). I emailled TT again last night telling them that audio would work for a while then go so quiet that it was inaudible overe the engine sound. They have informed me that they have referred this to their "Second Line Technical Department" so obviously not a straightforward fix. If I could reinstall the previous app I would and forego the added facilities just to make it as reliable as it was before but HOME seems to have corrupted my backup. Any comments would be appreciated and I'll let you know what "Second Line" suggests. Thanks.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2010
Messages
7
Location
Glasgow, UK
TomTom Model(s)
XL IQ Routes Europe Edition 2
Well, lads,

Got this reply today from TomTom's technical side so now we all know where we stand re audio problems with the new app. So it's stereo turned down and fingers crossed that the revised app. won't be too long in appearing!

"This issue has been reported to the software team for further investigation.This is happening after the release of the new application In the meantime can you set the volume not higher than 80% and also to de-select the option to "link the volume the car speed" (it is in the Volume Preferences ... because if you drive fast and the volume will be higher than 80% then you will get no sound again. We are working on a permanent fix for this and will release it in a future application update. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused to you."
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top