Love my new 730 (housed in a 720 body) but have some questions

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by adidas1124, Oct 27, 2008.

  1. adidas1124

    adidas1124

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO LIVE 1535M and XXL-540TM
    I just bought a GO720 for 169.99 from Staples and got the most recent V8 maps (for free from TomTom) and Firmware V8... I absolutely love this thing!! Going from a One LE to this is like night and day!!

    I have been looking at these forums for a while and still have questions that I just need straight answers to:

    1) IQ Routes - do they take some time to become more accurate? As in, do they need to gather information over a period of time in order to route you correctly based on time and day you are traveling? I am noticing that my routes during rush hour are going right smack through high traffic jam areas.

    2) Bluetooth through car speakers (FM Trans.) is not an option, correct?

    3) Voice recognition is awesome... is there anyway to activate it with your voice rather than having to go to "Navigate To"?
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2008
    adidas1124, Oct 27, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. adidas1124

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,105
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    That's the theory....as more input is received from users sharing their real time driving experiences, further map updates will become more accurate vis-a-vis IQ routing


    Don't believe so. Still have to get as far as select city manually for VR to 'kick in' I'm not 100% sure about #2 so I'll let someone else resond.
     
    dhn, Oct 27, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. adidas1124

    Grumpy_Aero_Guy

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    SW Ohio
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go720
    Correct. Bluetooth always annunciates through the unit. BTW, I have found the FM transmitter weak (volume level too low thru radio). Have MUCH better luck using the Aux Input jack on my factory radio.

    Just my $0.05.
     
    Grumpy_Aero_Guy, Oct 28, 2008
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.