Keyboard Issues


Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
10
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/au.png" alt="Australia" /> Australia
TomTom Model(s)
VIA 280
I own a Tom Tom VIA 280 which I have had great service. Of late the keyboard appears to need re-calibration.
The first thing I tried was using another keyboard format with no luck. Next I tried a partial factory reset, then a total factory reset.
Is there a way I can re calibrate the up and down and left and right axis?
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,275
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
That model is known as a Nav 3 model (using MyDriveConnect). As such, the user has no access to the file system on the device. Perhaps you can find a screen digitizer on eBay to try.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
10
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/au.png" alt="Australia" /> Australia
TomTom Model(s)
VIA 280
Thank you for the reply dhn. I had a bit of a look on eBay with no luck. I may have to update.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,650
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Your device (we know it as the Via 125 or 135) isn't quite as old as Gaius Plinius Secundus, but it was released back in the 2010/2011 timeframe. So you should have had a few good years out of it.
What features were the most important to you on your 280?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
10
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/au.png" alt="Australia" /> Australia
TomTom Model(s)
VIA 280
'Your device isn't quite as old as Gaius Plinius Secundus' :)
What features were the most important to you on your 280?
Thanks Canderson. It may come as a surprise My wife and I enjoyed the Australian James voice. We called him Kev. A bit of a larrakin is our Kev. Other features were, it allowed us to take another route without the constant hassle of being told to turn around if there was an available alternative route. Since posting I went out and bought a VIA 53 for a good price on special. I checked out the reviews and it was given a good score. I now like the voice activated system and not having to type in all the address in a particular order and it comes again with a James/Kev voice. We're off to New Zealand for a drive holiday and wanted to be sure we had an easy to use Sat Nav.
and,
will we use NZs Ben's voice?
Still to decide.:cool:
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,650
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Sounds like you've solved it nicely. Have you got your phone coupled up to it to provide the Live traffic data yet?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
10
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/au.png" alt="Australia" /> Australia
TomTom Model(s)
VIA 280
Sounds like you've solved it nicely. Have you got your phone coupled up to it to provide the Live traffic data yet?
No. I believe there're problems with that according to the reviews. At this stage I'll just use it without coupling.
I'm pretty much the navigator when it comes to road trips with my wife so I play with the sat nav in the passenger seat.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
10
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/au.png" alt="Australia" /> Australia
TomTom Model(s)
VIA 280
In NZ that could invoke international roaming charges.
Check with your ISP.
Yes roaming charges are not so good with my provider so a good reason not to. I've bought a New Zealand 10GB sim card on eBay at a good price which should be adequate to get use of both our laptops and other requirements. I guess I could experiment with coupling the Sat Nav on that sim card.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top