Keyboard Issues

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by Pliny, Feb 9, 2019.

  1. Pliny

    Pliny

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 280
    I own a Tom Tom VIA 280 which I have had great service. Of late the keyboard appears to need re-calibration.
    The first thing I tried was using another keyboard format with no luck. Next I tried a partial factory reset, then a total factory reset.
    Is there a way I can re calibrate the up and down and left and right axis?
     
    Pliny, Feb 9, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Pliny

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,001
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    That model is known as a Nav 3 model (using MyDriveConnect). As such, the user has no access to the file system on the device. Perhaps you can find a screen digitizer on eBay to try.
     
    dhn, Feb 9, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Pliny

    Pliny

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 280
    Thank you for the reply dhn. I had a bit of a look on eBay with no luck. I may have to update.
     
    Pliny, Feb 9, 2019
    #3
  4. Pliny

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,888
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Your device (we know it as the Via 125 or 135) isn't quite as old as Gaius Plinius Secundus, but it was released back in the 2010/2011 timeframe. So you should have had a few good years out of it.
    What features were the most important to you on your 280?
     
    canderson, Feb 9, 2019
    #4
  5. Pliny

    Pliny

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 280
    Thanks Canderson. It may come as a surprise My wife and I enjoyed the Australian James voice. We called him Kev. A bit of a larrakin is our Kev. Other features were, it allowed us to take another route without the constant hassle of being told to turn around if there was an available alternative route. Since posting I went out and bought a VIA 53 for a good price on special. I checked out the reviews and it was given a good score. I now like the voice activated system and not having to type in all the address in a particular order and it comes again with a James/Kev voice. We're off to New Zealand for a drive holiday and wanted to be sure we had an easy to use Sat Nav.
    and,
    will we use NZs Ben's voice?
    Still to decide.:cool:
     
    Pliny, Feb 12, 2019
    #5
  6. Pliny

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,888
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Sounds like you've solved it nicely. Have you got your phone coupled up to it to provide the Live traffic data yet?
     
    canderson, Feb 13, 2019
    #6
  7. Pliny

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    In NZ that could invoke international roaming charges.
    Check with your ISP.
     
    Arno, Feb 13, 2019
    #7
  8. Pliny

    Pliny

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 280
    No. I believe there're problems with that according to the reviews. At this stage I'll just use it without coupling.
    I'm pretty much the navigator when it comes to road trips with my wife so I play with the sat nav in the passenger seat.
     
    Pliny, Feb 13, 2019
    #8
  9. Pliny

    Pliny

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 280
    Yes roaming charges are not so good with my provider so a good reason not to. I've bought a New Zealand 10GB sim card on eBay at a good price which should be adequate to get use of both our laptops and other requirements. I guess I could experiment with coupling the Sat Nav on that sim card.
     
    Pliny, Feb 13, 2019
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.