just bought a 720 refurb,

I'm so glad that i found this forum , when i get the 720 what should i do .Ireally bought it for the voice reg for adderess im a truk driver and well use that alot ,also would like to get the latest maps 2009 ,also alot of new streets in my area cant wait to learn how to use map share and edit routes and add new streets ,I just want to say that i have been reading some of the post mostly about voice im sure confused but you folks are so nice .

thanks for letting me join
raiderdanny;)

Welcome. No need for thanks. Without members, there would be no forum.

Before doing **anything**, make a complete Explorer, not Home, backup of your unit's contents. Ensure hidden files/folders are showing.

Also, find out what firmware and map you have installed on the unit. To find the firmware version, tap the satellite bars. Tap the version number and the next screen shows the map installed and the version.

The latest firmware version is 8.3; it has caused some problems with stuttering computer voices, elimination of voice navigation of instructions using FM and sluggish refresh of the map.

But, you need version 8 of the firmware to use Map version 8x. (The latest version is 8.15)

If you haven't done so, create an account at TomTom.com. Email address and password.

If you need to update the firmware, connect to the computer, start Home and the latest firmware (8.3) may be offered. Use Home's menu of Latest Map Guarantee. See what is shown.

If you do NOT have version 8.15 installed and Home says you have the latest map anyway, well, that's an known problem with Home. Their LMG is not too reliable.

Call, don't email, support at 866-486-6866 and explain the situation. They should apply the newest map to your account **if you are within 30 days** of first use of the unit.

Be prepared to send a fax, scan or photo of your sales receipt.

Now, what problems are you having with voices?