Issues/problems with map 910

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by dhn, May 15, 2013.

  1. dhn

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Any issues or problems with installing 910 should be discussed in this thread.
     
    dhn, May 15, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. dhn

    Skinyourhat

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall, England
    TomTom Model(s):
    go910 & go720
    Hi, I hope someone can give me some help...? I have a Go910 and it came with Europe and USA and Canda Maps as well as some other areas. I have had it now for about 5 years and thought it was time to update the USA map as I'm going there next month.
    I have "plugged" it into Tom Tom Home and clicked on the "Purchase Maps" button but the screen doesn't give me the option of upgrading USA & Canada, just Europe and GB etc.
    Have they stopped doing updates for this model? How do I go about getting it done? Help please!!
     
    Skinyourhat, May 15, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. dhn

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Firstly, you won't get v910 maps for ANYTHING yet. The forum topic is a bit early... (Also it's pure coincidence that you have a Go910, and that the next map version number will be v910)

    Now... Why is Home not offering you the US map?
    Hopefully it MIGHT be something very simple....

    I just tried it on a Go940 which is only a bit newer then yours and the one thing I noticed is that Home doesn't show you the US maps on the FIRST screen it brings up, for "recommended items".
    You have to click on the"View" box at the top and switch it to "All" before they get shown.
    They are right down the bottom of the list... and the ones I was offered were "USA", "USA and Canada" or "USA and Mexico".
     
    Andy_P, May 15, 2013
    #3
  4. dhn

    tgold

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Miami Beach FL, New York NY and London UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    Android apps.
    Map v910 of Europe (both for Nav2 and for Nav3) has been offered and downloaded but no sign yet of USA, Canada and Mexico for Nav2. Is anyone else being offered that one yet?
     
    tgold, May 15, 2013
    #4
  5. dhn

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    I thought it had been put up accidentally and removed again.

    But from other forum posts it seems that it has re-appeared now.
     
    Andy_P, May 15, 2013
    #5
  6. dhn

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,407
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    No, but didn't they release the NA v905 maps almost a month after the Europe one.
     
    Arno, May 15, 2013
    #6
  7. dhn

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Can also confirm the NA map is not being available for my 540 here. I woulda thought they would have also released the NA map today, rather than always being behind Europe by a month or so for every map release.

    I've asked a contact at TT to clarify the issue with NA maps ...... will provide feedback if and when I get it.
     
    dhn, May 15, 2013
    #7
  8. dhn

    tgold

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Miami Beach FL, New York NY and London UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    Android apps.
    Thanks to Arno and dhn for confirming that my problem is not particular to my devices or accounts. With Nav3 one gets the comfort of reading that one has a Lifetime map subscription, but with Nav2 there is nothing like that and so one can be left wondering whether such a subscription might have "dropped off" the account. Let's see whether Ditte answers either of our enquiries.
     
    tgold, May 15, 2013
    #8
  9. dhn

    tgold

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Miami Beach FL, New York NY and London UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    Android apps.
  10. dhn

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,872
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Yup. Once again, North American maps are delayed. I'm offered the update to 910 for Western Europe, but only a Mapshare update for North America. I hope this isn't going to turn into a trend. That's two releases in a row where this has happened.

    Last time, there were rumors about taking additional time to add some major roadways. This week's excuse is "The subscription tool is currently undergoing maintenance".
     
    canderson, May 16, 2013
    #10
  11. dhn

    doctormstein1

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Holtsville, NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    2535M Live
    received 910 North a update yesterday. No problems installing it
     
    doctormstein1, May 16, 2013
    #11
  12. dhn

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Yes doc but yours is a Nav 3 device. The problem with the delayed maps in with the old Nav 2 devices using Home, not MyTomtom.
     
    dhn, May 16, 2013
    #12
  13. dhn

    zengshengliu

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 600, 740TM Live
    Its weird. I don't get the 910 map offer but for some reason I got two unrelated update:
    Fuel Prices Europe - Update prices
    Fuel Prices Europe - Update gas stations
    Even thought I don't have the map for Europe

    Also, I checked the Purchase Maps section in TomTomHome, it shows that the 910 map is available on USA, USA & Canada, USA & Mexico, but not on North America ?!?!?!
     
    zengshengliu, May 17, 2013
    #13
  14. dhn

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    It appears to be an issue only with Nav 2 devices with the Map Update Service and North_America map installed, not for those actually wanting to purchase the 910 map.

    Tomtom 'hopes' to have the problem resolved by next week.

    And my understanding is that those with a current North_America map on the MUS will find the map renamed to USA_Canada_Mexico when the issue is resolved and the new map offered.

    TomTom housekeeping, I guess.............
     
    dhn, May 17, 2013
    #14
  15. dhn

    zengshengliu

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 600, 740TM Live
    So do we get more POI back in return? :D
    Cause North_America has only 5.3 millions POI where USA&Canada has 9.3 millions
    And its only 60mb differece in size
     
    zengshengliu, May 17, 2013
    #15
  16. dhn

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Beats me.... I think I saw the full poi set would be included. I think. :)
     
    dhn, May 17, 2013
    #16
  17. dhn

    zengshengliu

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 600, 740TM Live
    I guess we just have to wait and see.
    Let just hope that the wait won't be as long as the last one
     
    zengshengliu, May 17, 2013
    #17
  18. dhn

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,872
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    FWIW: I'm running a GO740 that uses the old 'North_America_2GB' map, and am seeing the same results. Still only being offered Mapshare data for that map, not 910. Am also offered Europe fuel prices for the first time, but I DO have a Western Europe map loaded on that unit in external memory.
     
    canderson, May 17, 2013
    #18
  19. dhn

    sportsfan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    How many changes do they actually make on the North American maps? They always have the speed limits wrong or non-existent on some of the local roads where I live. I received the generic email that the summer maps are available, but no luck in getting them! Sounds like they should give us a good discount on an updated TomTom device.
     
    sportsfan, May 18, 2013
    #19
  20. dhn

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Make corrections using the mapshare reporting tool (www.tomtom.com/mapshare/tools). More effective than using mapshare corrections on your device.
     
    dhn, May 18, 2013
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.