Issues/problems with install of map 935

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by dhn, Aug 16, 2014.

  1. dhn

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    There is a really old Tomtom ONE that accepts up to 2gb SD cards. If it has a slot, 2gb is the largest that a ONE model supports.
     
    mvl, Sep 9, 2014
    #41
    1. Advertisements

  2. dhn

    brinuk

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    one v1
    Thank you. The model is a Tom Tom Go version 1, but seems to be an old device. If 2GB is the largest sd card that it will support then I'll have to try and find one.
    You have been very helpful.
    Regards
     
    brinuk, Sep 9, 2014
    #42
    1. Advertisements

  3. dhn

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,844
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Yes - the problem is that your TomTom is old enough that its firmware cannot be brought up to a level that will manage SDHC cards, so you're stuck with the older (and now, harder to obtain) straight SD cards.
     
    canderson, Sep 9, 2014
    #43
  4. dhn

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,396
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    What happens when you tap on the 6.560 ?

    This get s a little more complicated and that is why we need the exact specification of your device.
    Your device may not recognise an SDHC, but only a plain SD card.
     
    Arno, Sep 9, 2014
    #44
  5. dhn

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,396
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Click Amazone.
     
    Arno, Sep 9, 2014
    #45
  6. dhn

    brinuk

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    one v1
    Tapping on the white box gives.
    Device AK5AE DJMUN
    app 6.560 OS:1713
    29MB RAC free 1.1MB
    GPS v1.21, Boot 5.05
    Map Great Britain Map v605.0
    Language English UK
    thank you.
     
    brinuk, Sep 9, 2014
    #46
  7. dhn

    brinuk

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    one v1
    Amazon still seem to be selling the 2Gb plain sd cards, so I'll give them a go.
    Thank you for all of your help, I'm very grateful.
     
    brinuk, Sep 9, 2014
    #47
  8. dhn

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,396
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Go down 1/4 on the page for 2GB cards
    I would not worry that it says 'for cameras'.
     
    Arno, Sep 9, 2014
    #48
  9. dhn

    brinuk

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    one v1
    Thank you I've ordered one. I look forward to having two maps installed!
    Regards
     
    brinuk, Sep 9, 2014
    #49
  10. dhn

    tgold

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Miami Beach FL, New York NY and London UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    Android apps.
    The Android version of the v935 map of USA & Canada is now available for download. There is no sign yet of the map for Europe so maybe it was delayed to attend to the speech/v937 issues that were discovered in PND versions.
     
    tgold, Oct 2, 2014
    #50
  11. dhn

    BCfromKY

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 550M
    Strange? problem. I have an XXL 540 M. I just updated to map 935.5811. After installing through TomTom HOME I am now getting a notification that I have a map update available but it is version 870.3420. I also get the notification for a map share update but when I try to download it i get the following error message:

    Error writing file : F:\USA_Canada_and_Mexico\MapServerPatch.dat

    My device seems to be functioning properly but if I can't load MapShare updates that's an issue. Any ideas what I should do?
     
    BCfromKY, Oct 4, 2014
    #51
  12. dhn

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,844
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Having the old map suggested is a known bug by Home that will have to be ignored, but not being able to write a Mapshare file to your device isn't.

    Please advise what your PC reports for available space on your 540 as it stands now.
     
    canderson, Oct 5, 2014
    #52
  13. dhn

    BCfromKY

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 550M
    After a little looking I do believe that my device memory if full and I've deleted everything I can to free space.

    Is it possible to download a "smaller" map? There is one available through HOME that is US only that would suit my needs that is about 100MB smaller. Will my lifetime map updates still cover that if I purchase the smaller map? Not being able to keep the maps up to date kind of renders the device obsolete. After reading mixed reviews of newer TomTom units I really don't want to buy a new one if I don't have to..
     
    BCfromKY, Oct 5, 2014
    #53
  14. dhn

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,396
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    You said that the current map v935 is installed but that you cannot download MapShares.
    Now that you made some space, have you tried again?

    But you were able to update to the current map.
    Downloading the smaller USA map should automatically replace your USA_Canada_and_Mexico map.
    You should not have to purchase that smaller map.
    Your lifetime map updates should remain but, to be absolutely certain, call Customer support:

    Screen027.png
     
    Arno, Oct 5, 2014
    #54
  15. dhn

    BCfromKY

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 550M
    even with everything that I can delete to free space and still have a functioning unit gone the new map fills the memory. My only option for this unit seems to be a smaller map that will allow me to continue getting MapShare update.

    Having read very mixed reviews on the new GO models and their functionality I'm a bit leery to upgrade to one of those.
     
    BCfromKY, Oct 5, 2014
    #55
  16. dhn

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,844
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    The map keeps growing. It may be that you have reached the point where you will need to run a 'zoned' map. Other 540 users have already reached this point as well. TomTom has split North America into zones where you load half at a time depending upon where you need to be. It may be necessary to have tech support set that up for you using the number provided above.
     
    canderson, Oct 5, 2014
    #56
  17. dhn

    BCfromKY

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 550M
    Called customer support at TomTom and was told that if/when a zoned map was needed it would be offered as an update and in the meant time to try to free up space on the unit. Whole lotta help there. Maybe it's just time to upgrade after all the unit is 4 years old and that's ancient in electronic terms. Unfortunately I've seen very mixed reviews on the GO series. I really like the functionality of the 540 particularly POI warnings and Itinerary planning. Are the newer models capable of that?

    Thanks for the help
     
    BCfromKY, Oct 6, 2014
    #57
  18. dhn

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,984
    Likes Received:
    442
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    The new Go 50/60/500/600 models do have itinerary planning but, so far, no custom poi files or warnings.
     
    dhn, Oct 6, 2014
    #58
  19. dhn

    thomasjk

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXl 540M
    thomasjk, Oct 6, 2014
    #59
  20. dhn

    Rick F.

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    South FL
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL-335TM; Map 935.5811
    Hi guys. I haven't been on the forum for some time. Today I updated my TomTom with latest map share changes, speed cameras, etc. I have map v935.5811. Home is offering me map 905! Something weird I think. I searched the forum for map 905 being offered and there were no hits.

    I'm sure I need to ignore this map 905, but does anyone know what this is about?

    Thanks.
     
    Rick F., Oct 24, 2014
    #60
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.