Is there a way to set directions into your GPS?

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Raith, Dec 14, 2008.

  1. Raith

    Raith

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to set specific directions because it gives bad directions, anyone know?
     
    Raith, Dec 14, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Raith

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,134
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    What do you mean by bad directions? What option did you check? Fastest? Shortest? etc.

    Once it plans a route, you can select the 'choose alternate' option or you can use itinerary planning where you set the points you wish the route to travel through.

    A third party program, TYRE works in conjunction with google maps to set an itinerary you can send directly to the tt unit.


    An excellent explananation of the program and a link to it is provided by a member here, Birdman.

    The link is here
     
    dhn, Dec 14, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Raith

    Raith

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I want other alternate routes and it doesn't show, what are the commands for that? Or to get the "Fastest" / "shortest" direction? I cannot find it, thanks.
     
    Raith, Dec 14, 2008
    #3
  4. Raith

    OLd-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720
    DHN thanks so much for TYRE, works great. BIG SCORE IN MY BOOK.
     
    OLd-Man, Dec 14, 2008
    #4
  5. Raith

    GarCor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Nova Scotia in Summer Florida in Winter
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go-920 App 9.465 Map N A 895.4438 C&W Europe 8.30 Magellan Explorist 710
    old -Man If you like TYRE you might also like another program that works directly with the google interface where you can darg and drop your route rather than putting in waypoints.

    Just set your route in Google maps click on link in top right hand side of GM and copy link in the empty box on this page here

    Click on submit query and it will create an ITN file that you can save to your folder that you use with TYRE, you can then open it with TYRE if you like aswell.

    The reason I prefere this program is that you just put in you start and finish points then just click on the route with your mouse and drag it where you want.

    I am not knocking Tyre as I think it is great as well.



    Here is another program that I find handy for marking Favorete for you TT.

    link

    you can do this with Google maps as well if you know the name of the business you want as a fav.

    But if you just want to marl a Long/Lat to fav Mappiner worhs great.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2008
    GarCor, Dec 14, 2008
    #5
  6. Raith

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,134
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Preferences-->Planning Preferences (page 6) if you have all menu items showing.
     
    dhn, Dec 14, 2008
    #6
  7. Raith

    GarCor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Nova Scotia in Summer Florida in Winter
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go-920 App 9.465 Map N A 895.4438 C&W Europe 8.30 Magellan Explorist 710
    In your Preferences/planning preferences you can chose how you want your unit to route including ask me evert time. You can also turn I/Q routing on/off on the page.

    dump23413.JPG


    I see lightning fingers beat me to it again LOL ,,, way to go dhn
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2008
    GarCor, Dec 14, 2008
    #7
  8. Raith

    castironchef

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    720
    Navigating tools

    Thank you so much for both of these-they will be most helpful once my new 720 arrives.
     
    castironchef, Dec 14, 2008
    #8
  9. Raith

    Raith

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks so much, I'm going to totally set a new waypoint!
     
    Raith, Dec 14, 2008
    #9
  10. Raith

    Viventis

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Regarding Tyre and Google maps. Can you let Google pick the route and then convert that to a TT itinerary, or do you have to plot the route yourself?
     
    Viventis, Dec 15, 2008
    #10
  11. Raith

    GarCor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Nova Scotia in Summer Florida in Winter
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go-920 App 9.465 Map N A 895.4438 C&W Europe 8.30 Magellan Explorist 710
    If you use Houghi and save the file in your Tyre folder it will show as a Tyre and can be oppned and viewed in Tyre.
     
    GarCor, Dec 15, 2008
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.