Is the RDS Traffic Reciever Worth it?

Discussion in 'TomTom Services' started by Stranded in Daytona, Dec 25, 2007.

  1. Stranded in Daytona

    Stranded in Daytona

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello,

    I hope this isn't a bad re-post, and I didn't want to Hi-jack the thread below, but I was wondering if the RDS Traffic antenna is worth it? How many of you have it and said, "Wow... I'm glad I had this to re-route me away from that traffic"? I want to buy it, especially because I am driving to NJ from NC the day before New Years Eve so I just wanted to see if it was worth the money before I hit the road.

    Thanks ,
    Cameron
     
    Stranded in Daytona, Dec 25, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Stranded in Daytona

    Boyd

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    New Jersey
    TomTom Model(s):
    920T
    I like mine, but on a long trip like that you will probably only find selected pockets of coverage. I live in the far southern part of NJ and commute to work in Philadelphia. The receiver doesn't pick up a signal until I get about 20 miles East of Philly. But from there on into the city it's nice to have.
     
    Boyd, Dec 26, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Stranded in Daytona

    davidalan99

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    TomTom Model(s):
    740 Live (not Used), Iphone 4 with TomTom & Navigon and TomTom Car Kit (not used)
    I drive half the route you are talking about.
    NY to Phil on the turnpike from exit 18 to around 6 or 5 no problem.
    bottom half of the pike very littel coverage
    delaware in and out of coverage on 95, nothing good until you at whitemarsh
    baltimore to DC pretty good
    bellow DC from the merge south to Frederick, also good
    frederick to richmond OK but in and out.
    Richmond south to NC very littel coverage after Petersburg.

    the best way is via the internet direct, very littel loss of coverage, and faster updates
     
    davidalan99, Dec 26, 2007
    #3
  4. Stranded in Daytona

    Boyd

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    New Jersey
    TomTom Model(s):
    920T
    I've noticed that you start getting TMC coverage somewhere between exits 2 and 3 on the NJ Turnpike and it's definitely good between exits 3 and 4.
     
    Boyd, Dec 26, 2007
    #4
  5. Stranded in Daytona

    fanchee

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 335S
    I have one and have used it a time or two in the DFW area, and it seems ok. I haven't put it through any thorough tests yet though. Only reason I got it is because I have a Verizon Blackberry that won't work with PLUS services.
     
    fanchee, Dec 26, 2007
    #5
  6. Stranded in Daytona

    dajhorn

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    dajhorn, Dec 26, 2007
    #6
  7. Stranded in Daytona

    file13

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I got a TMC-RDS receiver for christmas and it dosen't work in the Atlanta area. Just got off the phone with Tomtom and they say the system has been down for "two days" (although I've heard it's been down for months) and that there is no resolution time. It'll just have to go back to Frys I guess. I'll not piss away $130.00 for nothing.
     
    file13, Dec 26, 2007
    #7
  8. Stranded in Daytona

    Stranded in Daytona

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for all the help you guys! I think im just gonna wait for it and brave the trip without it this time, but i'll probably pick one up in the future.
     
    Stranded in Daytona, Dec 26, 2007
    #8
  9. Stranded in Daytona

    osidak

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT Go 720
    I have not used the RDS with TOMTOM but I made the trip using it with my Navigon (same service) and it saved me ~ 3 hours due to traffic delays

    You will get updates for all the major cities well in advance (Baltimore, DC, Richmond, Raleigh, Greensboro, Charlotte

    I live in the Charlotte area and when I get my 720 in a few days I will try the plus service and if it is not working (due to cell phone type) I will get the RDS-TMC service as it is great. I use the GPS to go home so I can see where the worst traffic is and route around it
     
    osidak, Dec 26, 2007
    #9
  10. Stranded in Daytona

    Boyd

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    New Jersey
    TomTom Model(s):
    920T
    Looks like TomTom's website is down AGAIN. As much as I like their products, they have one of the worst websites I've ever seen for a big company...
     
    Boyd, Dec 26, 2007
    #10
  11. Stranded in Daytona

    Rbatey

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same problem in Atlanta with no help from support.
     
    Rbatey, Jan 9, 2008
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.