Is HD Traffic worth the outlay?

TomTom Model(s)
TomTom Europe App
Hi,

Newbie here.

I have the TomTom Europe app running on my iPhone 4s (and very happy with it).

Just wndered whether it is worth shelling out for the HD Live Traffic add-on.

I notice it is £26 for the UK version of Traffic. Will that even work with my TT Europe app or will I have to shell out a load more even though I only plan to use Traffic in the UK?

I don't do loads of miles, to be honest, but I'm out most weekends on roadtrips with the family.

Any help or advice would be most welcome...

The value of HD traffic is always in the eye of the beholder. So much depends upon the roads you frequent and the consequences of coming up upon an unanticipated jam. For some drivers' routes, the problem is solved simply by observing the traffic ahead and getting off and taking a well known alternate route. Where the problem occurs on a major road (M style) where there are no nearby exits, it can be a real pain. It can also be a pain when you're not familiar with the area and the alternates, even if you can get off.

I think those that benefit the most are those whose daily commute takes them on routes that are prone to problems.

So it's always a matter of balancing the value of the service (which continues to improve in resolution and accuracy) against the cost. If your weekend drives tend to take you into congested areas or on difficult to exit roads, it might be worth it.

Thanks for the advice. I don't use the car for the daily commute and, being a weekend driver mostly, I've decided to give the extra expense of HD Traffic a miss.
Cheers - you've saved me some cash.
Much appreciated.

i live on the wirral and travel all over the north west, the ammount of times it pops up saying you can save 5 or 15 mins is quite regular cbut i do drive most days on major roads for someone like me its priceless