IQ Routing

Seattle, WA (Where it RAINS all the time...)
TomTom Model(s)
XXL540TM
Another TT user had a post discussing the routing of his TT device. And I had some comments which I gave...

But, I'm new to TT, and they're just my thoughts. But, the question got me to thinking on it; so this is just a generic post on IQ routing. Learn a lot here reading - on the history, etc - about the gps devices.

If a TT device has IQ routing - you can't turn it off. Any route which it gives you - is going to have IQ influence.

Any alternate route will have IQ influence. IQ routing is part of the programing of the device. Can't get away from it. (But why would you want to??)

I have read (here at this great forum) people asking for a choice between Garmin or TT. Questioning which has better maps. And DHN or MVL replying that essentially - all the maps are equal. Depends on where you are. A specific area that you are looking at, or comparing. I live in Seattle. Maybe the TT map is better in Seattle, than Garmin. But maybe in Chicago - the Garmin is better than TT.

People put the maps together, and all of that. Lots, and lots of roads. We have the round-about turn issues, etc.

So, the Historic data which is being used for IQ routing - will be better or worse - for a specific area. Just as the maps are. And the device is using the maps to develop a route - so it should be expected that IQ routing quality will vary with the specific area where the device is being used.

I've lived other places. But I grew up in Seattle, and am living here now. Very familiar. Today, out and about - I did a small, simple test. I know how the TT always likes to route me down this long freeway - and I turn off of it way before it wants me to - for various reasons. My TT is set for 'fastest'.