Iphone 4

TomTom Model(s)
740 Live (not Used), Iphone 4 with TomTom & Navigon and TomTom Car Kit (not used)
Does anyone know how the car kit will function with the Iphone 4?:( Would hate to have to buy another kit.

I suspect it won't, since the iPhone 4 is thinner and may not hold contact to the charging strip on the existing mount. Otherwise the dimensions are very similar. Now add to that the newer gps chipset potentially causing issue with the TT one and I wouldn't place bets that it's compatible. With the TT carkit so expensive I'd think it would be worth the wait till the iPhone 4 starts shipping. It will be clear within a day or two after if the current mount will work.

Thanks for getting back to me. The problem is I already have it, I have been using it for about 3 months, and it actually (in some ways) works better than my 740 live. Fix is faster, Traffic is faster and google search is faster. If only I could get it to say turn right in 1/2 mile or 500 feet, instead the final prompt is in yards. Can you please explain the chip set issue.

The current TomTom iPhone app appears to look for the specific gps chipset found in the current iPhones. It won't run on the new iPad 3G, returning an error that no gps chip was found. So it's possible the TT carkit/gps is working the same way and may not "read" as connected to an iPhone 4. Then again it may be no issue at all. Until the 4's start shipping in another few weeks, I don't think there will be any firm answer.

From TomTom:

We?re reviewing specifications of new iPhone 4 & will have an update on compatibility w our car kit soon.

Received from TomTom support on Friday 6/11

Thank you for taking time to contact TomTom Customer Support. My name is Yolanda and we are always happy to help.

I apprehend that you wish to know whether the TomTom car kit is compatible with iPhone 4G.

I understand how important this is for you. Please be assured that I will definitely help you with this.