Invalid security certificate in Home


Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
1
I am trying to update my TomTom ONE XL and I keep getting a message saying ' invalid security code'. Any ideas how to get round this so I can update?

Cheers
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,170
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
What are you trying to update and where exactly in the process do you see that message?

Is this when you first connect the unit to Home that you see it and is there a numeric password on the unit?
 

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,455
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
In the header of your message you said "invalid security certificate".

If the error is about "certificates", it usually means your computer's date/time is set wrong.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2010
Messages
3
i have the same error:

"home.tomtom.com:443 uses an invalid security certificate.

The certificate is not trusted because the issuer certificate is unknown.

(Error code: sec_error_unknown_issuer)

This could be a problem with the server's configuration or it could be someone trying to impersonate the server.

If you have connected to this server successfully in the past the error may be temporary and you can try again later."

my date and time are both correct.
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,170
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
And this is when you are trying to run Home?

Or when is it exactly you are seeing this error?
 

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,455
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
i have the same error:

"home.tomtom.com:443 uses an invalid security certificate.

The certificate is not trusted because the issuer certificate is unknown.

(Error code: sec_error_unknown_issuer)

This could be a problem with the server's configuration or it could be someone trying to impersonate the server.

If you have connected to this server successfully in the past the error may be temporary and you can try again later."

my date and time are both correct.
You may have some corruption in your HOME folders.

Try these steps.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 15, 2010
Messages
3
followed those steps, still happening.

(also, i have windows 7, and there are no windows 7 specific instructions)
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,332
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
i see this error when i try to run any part of Home. every button i click returns the same error.
Are you trying to run this from home or are you on a corporate system where a proxy server might be interfering with the SSL of the Home server?
 

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,455
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
On windows 7, you should still be able to go to %appdata% and delete the Tomtom subfolder. Is that what you did?


Tomtom HOME communicates with https://community.tomtom.com/

I typed that into firefox and it says the certificate was authorized by digicert.

Does that website work in firefox (empty screen, but no errors?) I'm thinking it must be a firewall issue too, seems you addressed everything else.
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,332
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Problem seems to be unique to Kaspersky, and not all users of that software seem to have it due to variations in versions being run (old vs. new).

For your situation:

Open KIS> Settings> Network; Uncheck the Scan encrypted connections.

From the Kaspersky site:

"To scan encrypted connection Kaspersky Anti-Virus version 2009 substitutes the required security certificate by the self-signed certificate. Sometimes the programs that establish connection, refuse accepting this self-signed certificate and as a result do not establish connection. Kaspersky Lab's experts recommend disable check of SSL-traffic"


How to scan encrypted connections in Kaspersky Lab products version 2009
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,332
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Thank you!
No, thank YOU. You're the first to identify that you were receiving the message under Kaspersky. If I'd known earlier, I'd have spoken up. Kaspersky plays some games with certificates that not all applications will tolerate (nor should they, really). Other users tend to see this problem pop up on their online banking sites. Hadn't dawned on me that Home was operating that tightly, but now we know, and perhaps some others can benefit from your info.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
2
Location
France
TomTom Model(s)
GO 930
Thanks for your help canderson.

I had the same problem with KIS 2013 that I didn't have with previous KIS versions.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
2
Location
France
TomTom Model(s)
GO 930
I tried something else.

On KIS 2013, uncheking "use HTTP protocol instead of SPDY protocol" and have checked the "Scan encrypted connections" works. There's no more error message. It's weird.

I hope it'll be helpful.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,332
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Thanks, Totoro. Good to know there's a new workaround for this.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2013
Messages
1
Location
England
home.tomtom.com:443 uses an invalid security certificate.

The certificate is not trusted because the issuer certificate is unknown.

(Error code: sec_error_unknown_issuer)

This could be a problem with the server's configuration or it could be someone trying to impersonate the server.

If you have connected to this server successfully in the past the error may be temporary and you can try again later."

I had this issue recently and it looks like in my case updating Eset Smart Security to version6 was responsible.

Open Eset Smart Security and go to Advanced Setup:
Web and Email > Expand Web access protection > Select HTTP, HTTPS > Check Do not use HTTPS protocol filtering and then click ok.

This worked for me, hope it helps others who may encounter this issue.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
3
Location
Tennessee
TomTom Model(s)
XL IQ Routes
Invalid security certificate error

I have a XL IQ Routes and it works well. Recently while trying to update the maps, I keep getting and invalid certificate error and My Tomtom doesn't show that I am connected. Tomtom home does show that I am connected. I called Tomtom and they walked me thru deleting all of the tomtom info on my computer and downloading all the TThome and myTT stuff all over again. Still shows the invalid errors. And I have checked my internet security to verify that tom tom is a valid site and not to block it. I even turned off the firewall and spam to see if that would work. I just got an email from the tech guy I was working with, and he said I should use another computer. I only have this one. Has anyone experienced these invalid security certificate errors before, and if so, how did you fix it. Thanks
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads


Top