Installation problems/issues with map 965

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by dhn, Feb 7, 2016.

  1. dhn

    wjlelectric

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    TomTom Model(s):
    Via 1535 TM
    In my case I have 3260 MB free space on my device and 10865 free space on my memory card (16GB) so in my case, space is not an issue. As Zelopes said it's not our personal equipment problem it's the North America, Mexico maps that TT has to rectify on their side.
    Going to try to get through to customer service today.
     
    wjlelectric, Feb 26, 2016
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. dhn

    Zelopes

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States and Portugal
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 920, VIA 1535TM
    GOOD NEWS!

    My dear friends, please follow these steps:

    1. Disconnect the equipment from the computer.
    2. Close MyDriveConnect
    3. Delete the folder HOME3 located here:
    Users > [username] > AppData > Local > TomTom> HOME3
    4. After deleting HOME3, open MyDrive and connect the equipment
    5. Click on the Download button (or Update or Repair, whichever is there).
    It should proceed normally now.

    And TomTom is still working on it? Someone wrote somewhere in these forums that he couldn't figure out how TomTom is still in business... To which I would add: Or is TomTom being mined from the inside? I swear I have no idea.

    Well, if this works, as it did with me, please do yourselves a favor and ask TomTom US Customer Service why are they lagging so much behind TomTom offices in other countries often looked down as closer to the Third World than to so called "developed countries"... Go figure!!!...

    Good luck.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2016
    Zelopes, Feb 26, 2016
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. dhn

    RickB

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Near Toronto, Ontario Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 TMWTE & GO720
    Hallelujah!
    All is back to normal and map v9.65 loaded and working! (Without calling CS of course!)

    All I did was install a small Europe map, which worked w/o problems, then MyHome showed ~4000mb free, which should have been enough to squeeze in the updated N.A. map. Which, 36 mins later was also installed flawlessly. For the first time in all this process my "free space" showing matched in both MyDrive connect, and the Community Content screen. This was something like 79kb, so I then uninstalled the Europe Map to free up space, as I don't need it anyway, and I have tons of free space back too! (I play around with custom POI files a lot)

    From what happened from the very beginning, throughout the problems and solutions I have a theory: The new map is 3920mb. At the time, I think MyDrive was reporting about 3600mb free. I assumed that MyDrive was smart enough to remove the old map, thus freeing room, and only then it would install the update. Apparently it is not that smart the errors started. (I should have known).
    So, I thought I'd uninstall the old N.A. map, then install the update. Nope, that is how I got stuck in the "No Maps Found" Loop Of Hell. At that point MyDrive wouldn't install the update, because MyDrive still reported not enough space was available, even though there was supposedly no maps installed at all! (I think this is part of the flaw, the maps are uninstalled, but not "cleanly".)
    So, apparently installing an old unused Europe map refreshed the space available which was enough to also install the new 9.65.

    For what its worth, hope this helps someone else get out of this jam!
     
    RickB, Feb 26, 2016
    #23
  4. dhn

    RickB

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Near Toronto, Ontario Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 TMWTE & GO720
    PS: Zelopes method sounds much quicker than mine! Curious though, the folder he mentions to completely delete is the one that is supposedly emptied when you use the "Clear Cache" button in MyDrive, which should be the same thing? For the record, I was "clearing the cache" over and over while I was fudging around for a solution.
    Oh well... I think I'll go post both solutions in the TomTom Corp forums as there seems to be people posting about this there too.
    Happy navigating everyone!
     
    RickB, Feb 26, 2016
    #24
  5. dhn

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,089
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    As you saw in TT's Discussion forum, a TT staffer suggested this:

    • Close MyDrive Connect (from the system tray)
    • Delete the HOME3 folder from C:/Users/AppData/Local/TomTom and C:/Users/App/Data/Roaming/TomTom
    • Start MyDrive Connect
    • Click Repair under My Maps
     
    dhn, Feb 26, 2016
    #25
  6. dhn

    fred9

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 500 2405TM XXL540TM
    I cannot get my GO2405 to connect. (I did update the map on my 540XXL with no problems.) Current map on device is v945.6173 release 2/2015
    So far I moved the USB to the device to a port on the back of mt desktop. I deleted the HOME programs as Zelpoes suggested. I have disconnected the 2045 numerous times. It says "Connecting to your computer" and the My Drive app on my desktop shows TomTOM GO 2405 with 3523 MB used and 201MB free. After clocking for about 3-5 minutes it displays "Your device is not responding. Try disconnecting and reconnect."
     
    fred9, Feb 26, 2016
    #26
  7. dhn

    zengshengliu

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 600, 740TM Live
    If you are using MyDrive, and the "Your device is not responsing" message is showed while installing (download finished). Try disconnect and reconnect the usb cable with that message display. It should resume and continue installation. I have a similar problem where it will say my device is not responsing while installing maps on my GO 600. I have to disconnect and reconnect a couple times, each time cause the percentage to increase by a little, until it finally finish.
     
    zengshengliu, Feb 26, 2016
    #27
  8. dhn

    fred9

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 500 2405TM XXL540TM
    Zen,
    I can't get the download to start. That is, the device is not completely connected. The pc and 2405 "See" each other but don't complete the connection.
    Thanks for your idea.
     
    fred9, Feb 26, 2016
    #28
  9. dhn

    RickB

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Near Toronto, Ontario Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 TMWTE & GO720
    I know with my set up, whenever there is any connection problems that persist, doing a "drum roll" reset usually fixes it. Also, using a "main" USB port at the back of my desktop rather than one of the extra ones up front helps too. (the ones up front are like USB hubs that the TomToms don't like. On a laptop it shouldn't matter though). Hope that helps.
     
    RickB, Feb 26, 2016
    #29
  10. dhn

    fred9

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 500 2405TM XXL540TM
    RickB,
    YOU Da Man!!!!!!!!!! (I'm the chump.) I had not tried the drum roll and it was the answer!!! My 2405 is now updating thanks to YOU!!
    Thanks
     
    fred9, Feb 26, 2016
    #30
  11. dhn

    wjlelectric

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    TomTom Model(s):
    Via 1535 TM
    I use a MacBook Pro laptop instead of a PC. What would be the procedure I would have to follow?
     
    wjlelectric, Feb 26, 2016
    #31
  12. dhn

    wjlelectric

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    TomTom Model(s):
    Via 1535 TM
    Is the objective to remove the Home 3 folder in my situation or is there more since involved since I'm using a Mac? Any help is appreciated in the procedure!!!!
     
    wjlelectric, Feb 26, 2016
    #32
  13. dhn

    zengshengliu

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 600, 740TM Live
    Have you try the drum reset? Hold down the power button until you hear a 'drum' sound and see tomtom logo, then release and let it boot up completely. Then, try connecting to the computer again.
     
    zengshengliu, Feb 26, 2016
    #33
  14. dhn

    wjlelectric

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    TomTom Model(s):
    Via 1535 TM
    Tried that before. If in the posts above you have to delete Home 3 folder. I have a Mac and would like to know the Mac procedure for the fix. Help!
     
    wjlelectric, Feb 26, 2016
    #34
  15. dhn

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,089
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    See what support says:

    866 486 6866
    Monday - Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. EDT
    Saturday: 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. EDT
     
    dhn, Feb 26, 2016
    #35
  16. dhn

    wjlelectric

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    TomTom Model(s):
    Via 1535 TM
    All the above fixes are for a PC. Since I have a Mac laptop that has worked perfectly until the 965 update I assume I have to remove the Home 3 folder as specified above. Can anyone with knowledge of the mac procedure help me? As I said above, re-booting the TT does not work. I need assistance on how to eliminate the Home 3 folder as specified above but for a Mac.

    Thanks for any help!
     
    wjlelectric, Feb 26, 2016
    #36
  17. dhn

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,089
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Use Finder to investigate the file structure on your computer if you don't want to call support.
     
    dhn, Feb 26, 2016
    #37
  18. dhn

    RickB

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Near Toronto, Ontario Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 TMWTE & GO720
    Not a chump! We've all been there!

    Cheers...
     
    RickB, Feb 26, 2016
    #38
  19. dhn

    wjlelectric

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    TomTom Model(s):
    Via 1535 TM
    As a Mac user the posted fixes procedure were made for a PC. I was successful in the 965 download. I got lucky but for your info and other mac users this is what I did:
    -Click on the small TT icon on the top of the screen
    -Click on the small cog wheel
    -Click on settings
    -Click on Cache
    -Highlight Cache Folder/users/username/Library/Caches/Tom Tom/Home 3
    -Click the delete button on keyboard
    -The above highlighted Cache Folder disappears
    -Click on empty Cache
    -Click on save settings
    -Open My Drive
    -Attempt the download of 965

    There must be other ways but this one worked for me. Strangely after everything was disconnected, I went back cog wheel>settings>cache folder that I deleted previously and it was back again.
    Anyway it worked ?????????
     
    wjlelectric, Feb 27, 2016
    #39
  20. dhn

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,060
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    The folder is automatically recreated by MyDrive. Deleting it really just deletes the contents.
    Truth to tell, just deleting the contents of the cache folder within it should be sufficient. That assures that MyDrive has no prior history of any download activity.
     
    canderson, Feb 27, 2016
    #40
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.