Inconsistent VIA performance

TomTom Model(s)
XXL 540 WTE, Via 1505, XXL TM
I am not a software engineer, I don't write code. I don't design circuitry (but I can solder.) But even I can see there are problems with the VIA 1400 and 1500 (and maybe more VIA model strings which I have not used.) TomTom has said there was a leap year glitch and there was a patch made available for that. But that does not account for abysmally inconsistent performance of this line. At random times, the sensitivity is just not there. It is not because of shielded windows. It is not from a lack of updates. They have not been dropped or exposed to moisture. I can take a 540XXL or 340XL and get a lock inside my living room within 30-40 seconds. When I use a VIA model, it will hunt for 10 minutes from the same location and never get a lock. The reason for writing this today: I have two VIA units which got a lock in the cars last night. Yet this morning, in the same vehicle, neither unit hit the SATS in 7-8 minutes! I waited for about 10 minutes more, rebooted them and they locked within 45 seconds. The lock times are widely inconsistent and unpredictable. There is something else wrong, be it hardware or software related. I have used enough of them to know I have not come across a random bad unit. In my work, I have been hands on with 6-7 of these and have also looked at friends' units. The collective performance is very similar. All units are reported as being up to date in MyTomTom. People (loyal TomTom customers!) do not have the time to play the drums, and wait 5-10 minutes for satellite locks every time they want to use their GPS. Is there a remedy for this?

And you do have the latest application?

Many of us have found the gps chips on the Nav3 devices simply are not as 'robust' as on earlier units. That said, it shouldn't take more than 3-4 minutes or so to grab a lock on the new devices upon start-up.