Images for Menu Buttons Accessible? (TT 3rd)


Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
11
Are the images for the menu buttons accessible on the TT 3rd? I think I've been through every folder at least once and I haven't found them.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
11
Thanks for input, but I didn't see what I was looking for there. Let me rephrase a little. I'm not looking to restructure the menu functions, just displaying a custom image for a function, opposed to the default image. Just for example, say I wanted to change the image displayed for the preferences menu function/button from a wrench to a hammer.

Similar TT alterations seem to be as simple as replacing one bitmap file with another, but in this case I can't find the originals to replace them. It's making me wonder if they are accessible or if I'm just looking in all the wrong places somehow.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2007
Messages
941
Location
Northern VA
TomTom Model(s)
ONE v2
Thanks for input, but I didn't see what I was looking for there. Let me rephrase a little. I'm not looking to restructure the menu functions, just displaying a custom image for a function, opposed to the default image. Just for example, say I wanted to change the image displayed for the preferences menu function/button from a wrench to a hammer.

Similar TT alterations seem to be as simple as replacing one bitmap file with another, but in this case I can't find the originals to replace them. It's making me wonder if they are accessible or if I'm just looking in all the wrong places somehow.
Hmmm, that would be a question for Birdman, I guess. If there is a way to do that, someone in the forum has figured it out! :D
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,275
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
Hmmm, that would be a question for Birdman, I guess. If there is a way to do that, someone in the forum has figured it out! :D
It's my understanding that the coding for the images (icons) are hard coded in the firmware software.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2007
Messages
778
Location
Jericho, VT
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom Go 920
It's my understanding that the coding for the images (icons) are hard coded in the firmware software.

For built-in application icons, nobody has discovered a way to change those as dhn states.

For 3rd party applications, you can edit the *.cap file in the /SdkRegistry folder as I describe at the bottom of this instruction page:
>>> MenuTT Program <<<
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
3
Hey, I think I know what your talking about, and I'm looking to do the same thing. I stumbled accross these instructions, but I'm not sure if they only apply to the tomtom software on PDA's.

You actually have to use the same program/tweak that messes with the menu STRUCTURE in order to change the menu IMAGES.
This is with the tomtom.mnu file in SdkRegistry. There are many other threads on how to do this.

Basically the menu structure is in text format like below:
MENUBLOCK|BLOCK_MAIN|BTM_DONE|
MENUPAGE|TASK_PAGE1| Main Menu|
MENUITEM|TASK_NAVIGATE_TO|
MENUITEM|TASK_MENU_FIND_ALTERNATIVES|
MENUITEM|TASK_DELETE_ROUTE|
MENUITEM|TASK_SHOW_MAP|
MENUITEM|TASK_EXIT_APP|
MENUITEM|TASK_PAGE2|

So with this particular menu item:

MENUITEM|TASK_NAVIGATE_TO|

To Change the ICON and/or LABEL just add two more varibles separated by the ?|? symbol:

MENUITEM|TASK_NAVIGATE_TO|?icon.bmp?|?Where to??|

The icon will change to icon.bmp and the button caption will now read, Where to?

Icons must be BMP 80 pixels wide x 50 pixels high (80x50) in 24 bit color. The full BMP file name must be used in "quotes" between the |pipes|.

I haven't even bought a unit yet, so I can't test this for myself. Maybe you would like to try! Hope this helps, let me know how it goes.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top