Icon file format

TomTom Model(s)
ONE 125
I'm new here. The name is Ernie and I'm an old fart that drives all over south Florida for business. I'm new to GPS and bought a TT ONE 125 and have been playing with options and customizing it to my liking. I see you have a forum dedicated to car icons and there are many requests for folks to make custom icons of people's rides. My personal transportation is a Harley Davidson so I played with making my own .BMP image. What I ended up with looked like all the icons that come in the TT, but mine displayed with a 1 px red border all around it. It looked like hell so I started playing a bit and found that .gif images could be used in place of .BMP's. Gif images have the advantage of being significantly smaller in file size than bitmaps and you can have borderless images that are transparent where a bitmap would have the typical red fill.
I'm a Linux user here. (no windows for me) I use an image editing program called "Gimp" It's nearly as good as photoshop and FREE! There is a windows version for the unenlightened available for download at GIMP FOR WINDOWS
With Gimp, you can erase background to transparent space, resize to 60 to 80 pixels and save as a .gif image before copying it over the the art/cars folder.

Great find about the GIF format! now I've not tried it yet, but I wonder if it supports PNG files too. If that is the case, we could have full alpha information and create proper vehicles icons with transparent glass!

good question, but at 60 or 80 px, .gif is plenty. The TT OS is Linux. I wouldn't doubt it could handle PNG
The bigger question is why did the company load a unit with limited memory with relativly huge BMP's when there are several other formats that are significantly smaller in file size and would have allowed them transparency without secondary processing? Seems like a waste of resources to me.