I did something really stupid!


Joined
Jun 27, 2009
Messages
14
I have a 740 Live. While the device was connected to my computer, I accidentally (don't ask) deleted every file on the device, or at least I think I did.
When I "look" at the device via the computer it shows that it contains zero files.
I went to TomTom Home and the device connected to the computer. I went to Update, but when I attempted to download the system and map files to the device, it said I did not have sufficient memory on the device.
I went to Manage My Go. It shows that there are 1385 MB of "installed items" and only 570 MB of "free space" on the device. I went to the My Device tab to delete what may be there, but it states that there are "No Items" on the device.
So, what is the phantom data on my device that is taking up so much space that I can't reinstall? Can an owner reinstall everything? Have I killed it?
Thanks.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 10, 2008
Messages
1,157
Location
Florida
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom 930
If you run a checkdisk scan on the 740 drive, you'll probably find it's populated with unreadable files. A format will take care of that. You did do a backup, correct?
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2009
Messages
14
Thanks, Gatorguy.
Yes, I do have a backup.
I'm familiar with reformatting a drive using Windows: My Computer, Choose Drive, Format. Is that the same process for formatting this device would you think?
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,170
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
I'm sure that's what Gator meant. Don't use quickformat and make doubly sure your backup does have the map folder included along with the contents........
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2009
Messages
14
Thanks. You guys are life-savers.
Do you think it matters what format I choose for the device when I format it?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 27, 2009
Messages
14
Formatted device--took about 2 seconds.
Manage My Go showed no files!
I Updated the device--took about 30 minutes, incluiing the NA Map.
So far as I can tell, is working fine, but will test on drive home tonight.

Once again, many, many thanks for volunteering your time and effort to make the Forum so useful.
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,170
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Good to hear.

You HAVE made an Explorer backup, havent you? :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top