I believe the GO range of products are seriously flawed.


Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
9
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO5200
I'm a semi-retired software developer - doing some work for a charity delivering products. I've used the early TomTom satnav's and when they were no longer supported, switched over to the GO5200.

I've had perhaps five such units over a period of about three years. Each previous unit has stopped working to an acceptable level.

I believe there are some inherent faults. For example, at random points throughout the delivery day the unit will cease to respond and will then cycle through a boot-up, for no obvious reason. It works afterwards and that cycle takes approx. 180-240 seconds.

I'm offered a camera update every 5-7 days. I always elect to install via my wi-fi service and sometime I get e "Oops, something went wrong". Really!

I elect again to update and it works on the second attempt. Now, I know there's little new installation of cameras in England these days - some changes from fixed to average speed type cameras I accept.

Question, if, after a reportedly successful update of the camera file (about 5.6 gb) why should I receive another similar size file within 8 days max.?

Also, why is the A666 (Saint Peter's Way) in Bolton not noted on the GO5200 to have average speed cameras - these have been in place for some time now?

I'd really appreciate any feedback on this as Halfords always tell me they've never had these "re-boot" issues reported to them. Amazingly, I've had it on all five machines.
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,374
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
Try support for the reboot problem. This is a user to user forum:

United Kingdom
02079 490 132
Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
9
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO5200
OK. Got it.

Not asking for support for the Reboot Problem...........simply asking ALL the other users;

"Have any users also experienced a frequent reboot of their GO5200?"

I don't need support dhn - simply confirmation of the wider existance. That's the benefit with a forum.

Thanks in anticipation.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,912
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
At this time the X200 series does not exist in North America since virtually all ISPs have shut down their 2G systems.
Let's see how many Ozzies and Europeans will reply to you.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
9
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO5200
I guess I'm unique.

Five GO5200's and EVERY one has suffered the same fault. Build quality? Software?

I'm curious. TomTom seem not to be. Anybody out there mildly curious as well?

To reinterate: The unit performs a "re-boot" for no obvious reason at random points, spaced about 3-5 days apart. I receive a large "Camera Update" file every 6-8 days, about the same size each time, and a report that the unit is "up-to-date" after each such receipt/update".

It puzzles me. Does it not puzzle any of you?
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2019
Messages
2
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO6200
I guess I'm unique.

Five GO5200's and EVERY one has suffered the same fault. Build quality? Software?

I'm curious. TomTom seem not to be. Anybody out there mildly curious as well?

To reinterate: The unit performs a "re-boot" for no obvious reason at random points, spaced about 3-5 days apart. I receive a large "Camera Update" file every 6-8 days, about the same size each time, and a report that the unit is "up-to-date" after each such receipt/update".

It puzzles me. Does it not puzzle any of you?

I purchased a GO 6200 in March 2019 but did not use it until last week 10 June 2019 on route to Somerset from Shropshire. Home set up and destination found OK. Started off and verbal stated mileage and ETA and that was the last I heard from it, none of the usual Exit ahead then Take the exit, cross the roundabout second exit that is normal with my old TomTom. The visual displayed the route all the way but not one verbal command. Like you say Mike it rebooted several times and then went blank and switched off. When I got home I connected it to my mains PC and reloaded the software but have tried it again today and it did the same again. Not a cheap accessory so I'm not very happy and I will be contacting TomTom direct to find out what they have to say on this matter.
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,374
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
In the menu screen, is the mouth icon to the right of the volume bar muted (a line through it)? If so, tap to unmute. Also, unmute the icon to the left of the volume bar.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,912
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Some times when the Menu button to the left is tapped and the reaction is a tad slow and the button is tapped again, the toggle between mute and unmute is actuated without realising.

I wouldn't be surprised if that hasn't happened to everyone.

GO_mute.jpg
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
9
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO5200
Sometimes, when the wind is in the right direction, the sun is moving left to right, the birds are silent.......... the unit MIGHT work correctly. :) :) :)

Silver_Moose, the instructions to (one hopes) solve the silence problem may prove helpful but the rebooting........um!

That's not really been addressed by our two learned colleagues, Arno and dhn.

Mine had a "hissy-fit" yesterday. Simply went to sleep for about 6 minutes. Disconnected it from it's power source - never even realised. Still displayed a frozen screen. Came back alive afterwards without any prompting from me.

Had I written software like that over my preofessional career I'd still be working - to pay the recompense.

Admit it guys, there's a serious software fault (or worse) embedded in these devices.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
9
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO5200
Arno, TomTom aren't interested. I'm serious when I say I've had five GO5200's over a three uear period. If I contact the company, usually via email, the responses are clearly from a customer service employee who does not speak English as a first language. Such staff are generally working from a script that always fails to address the stated issue. Eventually there's a suggestion that I return the unit for examination/repair. In the meanwhile I have no device.

What I'm trying to achieve with this thread is a "poll" of the number of GO5200/GO6200 users who have suffered re-boots for no obvious reasons. If your Windows computer re-booted whilst you were working on a Word doc. or a spreadsheet you'd be rightly incensed.

Silver_Moose said:

"Like you say Mike it rebooted several times and then went blank and switched off."

The lack of audio may well be explained by the Volume control but the above, bald statement cannot be so simply explained. That's the bit that I'm seeking help for Arno.
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,374
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
Mike, if you wish results of a meaningful poll, it would make sense to do so at a European based forum where the 5200's and 6200's are sold, not in North America where they are not (as Arno pointed out in a post earlier in this thread).
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2019
Messages
2
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO6200
Mike, if you wish results of a meaningful poll, it would make sense to do so at a European based forum where the 5200's and 6200's are sold, not in North America where they are not (as Arno pointed out in a post earlier in this thread).
Many Thanks for all the helpful replies, I now know what to do when I lose verbal instructions. As for the switching off I will wait with baited breath and report if it does it again. Thanks to all.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
9
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO5200
Mike, if you wish results of a meaningful poll, it would make sense to do so at a European based forum where the 5200's and 6200's are sold, not in North America where they are not (as Arno pointed out in a post earlier in this thread).


As I posted a couple of days ago guys, (although it's now disappeared) I'd love to post on a UK/European Forum but cannot locate one that is independant of TomTom!

It took me some time to find this forum and I'd not realised it was primarily North American until recently.

Your pointer to such a Euro/UK forum would be greatly appreciated.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,912
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
If you are fluent in German you could subscribe to MeinTomTom.de .

I wouldn't worry about the independence of the Forum where dhn is a heavy duty poster.
Although owned and moderated (not sanitized) by the company there have been a few hard hitting post when I looked in there.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,912
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Mike In Horwich said:
As I posted a couple of days ago guys, (although it's now disappeared) I'd love to post on a UK/European Forum
According to statistics you posted 9 times and the word "forum" shows in post #3 and #15 only.
I do not see any posts by you withheld from public view.
How many post does your eMail client say you sent.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top