How to show the current street you are on

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by digital-flex, Jun 19, 2007.

  1. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    How to show the current street you are on


    Another common question is how to show the street name you’re currently on. You can do this using 3 methods. The last method is the only way to navigate (choosing a destination) and show the current street name at the same time.


    Method 1

    (a). If you go to the Main Menu, the bottom left corner shows the current street name.

    [​IMG]



    Method 2

    (a). You first need to go to Main Menu | Change Preferences | Status bar preferences

    [​IMG]

    (b). Make sure Street Name is checked

    [​IMG]

    (c). Now if you go to the main navigation window, without navigating to a destination, the current street name is displayed. When you drive, you will notice the street name will change to the street you are currently on.

    [​IMG]



    Method 3

    (a). Go to Main Menu | Change Preferences

    [​IMG]

    (b). Safety preferences

    [​IMG]

    (c). Here you can choose either Enable or Disable safety lock (it doesn’t matter)

    [​IMG]

    (d). Here you can choose either Always or Above certain speed. Choose Always in this case.

    [​IMG]

    (e). Here are two screen shots. The first one shows when you haven’t chosen a destination, the other shows when you have chosen a destination.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2007
    digital-flex, Jun 19, 2007
    #1
    3 people like this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. digital-flex

    Trey

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Concord, NC
    TomTom Model(s):
    One V2, GO 720, GO 2505
    Thanks for another clear explanation with screen shots and all!!!:)
     
    Trey, Jun 19, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. digital-flex

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    nice writeup! I'd give you points but that message about spreading around points before giving you some more points popped up.
     
    Nextourer, Jun 20, 2007
    #3
  4. digital-flex

    Trey

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Concord, NC
    TomTom Model(s):
    One V2, GO 720, GO 2505
    I gave him one from both of us.:D
     
    Trey, Jun 21, 2007
    #4
  5. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Thanks guys.

    Although I don't know if this will be useful anymore as the NavCore 7 screen shots have the option to show the current street.

    Hopefully, when they release it to the older units, that option will be available to us.
     
    digital-flex, Jun 24, 2007
    #5
  6. digital-flex

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Nice work DF!
     
    Pedro2NR, Jun 28, 2007
    #6
  7. digital-flex

    runarg

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Drammen, Norway
    TomTom Model(s):
    iPhone / Android / GO1015
    Yes, that's true. V7 will display both
    current street and next street in the navigator screen at the same time if you want it too.
     
    runarg, Jun 29, 2007
    #7
  8. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    We'll just have to wait and see if NavCore 7 will have all its options available to the other units.
     
    digital-flex, Jun 29, 2007
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.