How to make Home to install maps from hard drive?

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by zhup, May 12, 2007.

  1. zhup

    zhup

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    If your maps are stored on your HD, not on a DVD, can you make the TT1 Home recognize the maps for install? Thanks!
     
    zhup, May 12, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. zhup

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    You can create a *.toc file. If you have the map installed on you TT1 just copy it ot your computer using HOME. When you browse to the 'From Device' folder in your TomTom directory you should see the map and the *.toc. The *.toc file allows HOME to recognize the file and be able to select it to install on your TT1 from the hard drive.
     
    digital-flex, May 12, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. zhup

    nyca

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE
    indeed, this works. I installed the new maps this way, rather then listening to my DVD drive struggling to constantly seek the DVD for an hour to download the tomtom.

    copy the DVD drive to a folder on your HD, edit all the TOC files, then there is a preference in HOME to point it there.
     
    nyca, May 12, 2007
    #3
  4. zhup

    zhup

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    Thanks, guys. But where are the *.toc files located? I assume they are configuration files that point to DVD as sources or other locations. But when I looked on the TT1 device, I didn't see any *.toc file. Could you provide a template?
     
    zhup, May 12, 2007
    #4
  5. zhup

    dusti08

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Copy and paste map folder to the SD card without running HOME worked for me, TTone detected the map.
     
    dusti08, May 12, 2007
    #5
  6. zhup

    nyca

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE
    copy the entire DVD to the hard drive, you'll see them. edit the pathnames in the TOC files to point to whatever HD directory you copied to.
     
    nyca, May 15, 2007
    #6
  7. zhup

    lec510

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    16
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 510
    Hi Dusti:
    How do unpack the cab files, may I ask ? Thanks.
     
    lec510, May 15, 2007
    #7
  8. zhup

    46jimbo

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT ONE v1
    46jimbo, May 15, 2007
    #8
  9. zhup

    dusti08

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last edited: May 15, 2007
    dusti08, May 15, 2007
    #9
  10. zhup

    zhup

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    Thanks for the help. Since I didn't know how the device finds the maps, I picked the small Guam as a guinea pig. In TT1 Home, I clicked copy to computer, then I went to the Tomtom/Home/FromDevice/GO directory and found two files created: Guam.toc and Guam.zip. So I copied my North America map as a NA.zip here and modified Guam.toc contents and renamed it as NA.zip. When I started TT1 Home again, it recognized the map and started to install it onto my device.
     
    zhup, May 15, 2007
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. mikecwest

    20 GB hard drive UPGRADE??

    mikecwest, Sep 25, 2006, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    3,091
    Idioteque
    Oct 23, 2006
  2. russell_314

    Virus on 910.. Can I erase the hard drive an reinstall?

    russell_314, Jan 1, 2007, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,905
    raincloud
    Jan 3, 2007
  3. no clue

    910 hard drive???????

    no clue, Mar 16, 2007, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    8,802
    mikecwest
    Mar 29, 2007
  4. charliemunkie

    hard drive ribbon cable

    charliemunkie, Jun 7, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,513
    charliemunkie
    Jun 7, 2009
  5. tonysuffolk

    Replacing 910 Hard drive

    tonysuffolk, Oct 3, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    3,385
    mikealder
    Oct 3, 2009
  6. spider362

    Hard Drive Error After Home 2 Update

    spider362, Aug 17, 2012, in forum: TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software
    Replies:
    26
    Views:
    3,433
    Andy_P
    Sep 7, 2012
  7. TonyWB

    No hard drive in Go 710

    TonyWB, Oct 17, 2012, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,288
    mikecwest
    Oct 17, 2012
  8. stevec6973

    Go700 hard drive replacement

    stevec6973, Jan 11, 2017, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    514
    canderson
    Jan 22, 2017
Loading...