How to make a correction

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Rick F., Feb 10, 2008.

  1. Rick F.

    Rick F.

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    South FL
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL-335TM; Map 935.5811
    I've had my TT-3rd ed for about 2 months now, and am really enjoying it. I've subscribed to 'map share' and noticed that I'm getting some corrections that I download every few days.

    There's one error that I've tried reporting that I'm not sure if I'm doing it correctly. When I travel on this 4-lane divided highway (State Rd-7), TomTom tells me to "Stay right - Stay in the right lane." There's nothing there that I need to stay right to avoid. I think it has to do with some road construction that occurred a couple of years ago. I've tried reporting this error through 'unblock street' and 'report other error', but not sure if this is the right way to go about it. The other day when I was traveling this route, I got a screen capture (thanks Birdman on this 'how-to') and attached it below. You can see that there is an extra lane (shown in black) going off toward the left next to the red arrow ahead. This is exactly the area where TomTom tells me to 'Stay right' (you can see I'm 85 yds away in the status area). The lanes ahead are all open and show that way on TomTom's screen. Not sure why TT keeps telling me to 'Stay right'. The same thing occurs about 2 more miles down the road and I've tried correcting that error too.

    Any suggestions or comments?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 10, 2008
    Rick F., Feb 10, 2008
    #1
    1 person likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. Rick F.

    Birdman

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Jericho, VT
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 920

    The TomTom is still telling you to stay right because that black "construction road" still exists in its mind.

    I would try using the following option:
    Existing street
    Allows you to do the following for streets that exist on your map:

    * Report streets that no longer exist
     
    Birdman, Feb 10, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Rick F.

    Rick F.

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    South FL
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL-335TM; Map 935.5811
    Thanx Birdman,

    I'll try using 'existing streets' to report it. Never thought about that one.
     
    Rick F., Feb 10, 2008
    #3
  4. Rick F.

    eldorado

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    I just did a correction to the map today, made a turn on a street that I knew had one name and the TT said a different name, I believe this may have been the orignial name years ago, so went into corrections and it had the old street name and when it came up under corrections it said "change name to" and I just put in the new name, came home and downloaded and it said correction made, now for me that was impressive, as you can see it doesn't take much to impress me...........:D
     
    eldorado, Feb 11, 2008
    #4
  5. Rick F.

    tuckermans

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    MA
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtom one le
    can we all have the name of the street, city and state to see if the correction was given out.
     
    tuckermans, Feb 11, 2008
    #5
  6. Rick F.

    eldorado

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    It is in Grass Valley, Calif. old name was "N Dorsey Dr", new "Sierra College Dr"
     
    eldorado, Feb 12, 2008
    #6
  7. Rick F.

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,002
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    I see Sierra College Dr on my unit :D
     
    dhn, Feb 12, 2008
    #7
  8. Rick F.

    eldorado

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    Good and hopefully the whole street got changed to that, what I had originally was the back part of the street was the "N.Dorsey Dr" and then it did change to Sierra College at the top of the hill, so I wanted the street to run all the way thru from E. Main St to Ridge Rd, will check it out this weekend and see if it did the job, Thanks for the reply.
     
    eldorado, Feb 13, 2008
    #8
  9. Rick F.

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Mine has N Dorsey from Ridge, to Litton, and there is a circle there where it changes to Sierra College.
     
    Smokiewolf, Feb 13, 2008
    #9
  10. Rick F.

    Rick F.

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    South FL
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL-335TM; Map 935.5811
    I'm guessing, but I think that when "eldorado" said,

    "...so I went into corrections - it had the old street name. When it came up under corrections, it said "change name to" and I just put in the new name. Came home and downloaded and it said correction made".

    I think that meant the correction was 'uploaded' to TomTom's server. It still needs to be verified and then the correction will be downloaded to everyone.
     
    Rick F., Feb 13, 2008
    #10
  11. Rick F.

    SShadow

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    Just curious why you keep making your text smaller than everyone elses...?
     
    SShadow, Feb 14, 2008
    #11
  12. Rick F.

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I do have it set to only accept changes verified by Tom Tom
     
    Smokiewolf, Feb 14, 2008
    #12
  13. Rick F.

    Rick F.

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    South FL
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL-335TM; Map 935.5811
    On my computer, my post is bigger than everyone elses post. In that feedback forum where we discussed the text size, I think it was you who suggested using 'ctrl' and 'mouse wheel' to change the text size (thanks). But this only works for me (IE-6) if the poster highlights their post and sets a size (any size 1 to 7). Then 'ctrl' and 'mouse wheel' will work for me.

    Ok, instead of size '1' -- which is still larger than everything else I see -- I'll use '2'. Does that look better?
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2008
    Rick F., Feb 14, 2008
    #13
  14. Rick F.

    eldorado

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    Yes it does, I don't understand your small print, mine always prints this size with out doing anything????:confused:
     
    eldorado, Feb 15, 2008
    #14
  15. Rick F.

    eldorado

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    Just checked my local map book and it shows Sierra College Dr running clear thru from Ridge Rd to E.Main ST/Nevada City Hwy, What you are seeing that circle is a fairly new roundabout they installed a couple years back when they redid the street, so hopefully the "correction" I made will show up....:confused:
     
    eldorado, Feb 15, 2008
    #15
  16. Rick F.

    SShadow

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    Yep, looks better. Now it's bigger than everyone elses. LOL
     
    SShadow, Feb 15, 2008
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.