How to know why TT plans a route?

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by BretC, Dec 29, 2010.

  1. BretC

    BretC

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have a TT XXL. It is set up to us IQ routes & fastest route. When we travel from Neodesha, KS to Chanute, KS it avoids the shortest AND fastest route which is a section of highway 47 East of Altoona, KS. I have tried this with the IQ feature on and off, but the results are the same. Also, we do NOT have the real time road information on this TT device.

    With this in mind how can I understand WHY it is routing us this way?

    The ten mile section of highway 47 East of Altoona in question is pending major reconstruction soon. Utility poles and underground utilities have been and are in the process of being moved for the road construction. However there is no road construction there now. Again, our TT avoids this section of road regardless of the IQ on or off.

    Is it possible that the TT map update has verified that this section of road will be under construction?

    Do I understand correctly, that if the IQ feature is turned off that the TT should not be aware of the road construction?

    Thank you all for your help and support.

    Bret C
    :rolleyes:
     
    BretC, Dec 29, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. BretC

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,889
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    It's always possible that someone has blocked that section of road with MapShare. Try using TT Home and deleting all of the MapShare information on your unit from there. If that doesn't improve things, let us know and we can delve into it further.
     
    canderson, Dec 29, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. BretC

    BretC

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your reply. I do not see where to delete the map share files. It is more of a point of curiosity than anything at this point. I think I will just leave it alone for now and assume that the construction is the reason for avoiding the most direct and fastest route.

    On a similar point I routed a trip from Neodesha, KS to the Tulsa airport and much to my surprise the TT did route the fastest route. Most other GPS units and Internet mapping systems take a different route. With this in mind, I have a higher confidence level of my new TT.

    Thanks!

    Bret C
     
    BretC, Dec 29, 2010
    #3
  4. BretC

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,002
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    In Home (with the unit connected) Tools-->Mapshare-->Remove all corrections.
     
    dhn, Dec 29, 2010
    #4
  5. BretC

    BretC

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    No tools on my menu

    Thanks for the tip, but I do not have a "tools" on my TomTom Home.

    Bret C
     
    BretC, Dec 31, 2010
    #5
  6. BretC

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,889
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Should be along the top bar of the application, not one of the "buttons" in the middle. If you don't have the beta or Tyre loaded (which add a couple more entires) the top bar should read

    File - Device - Tools - Help

    And as I recall, your TomTom must be connected before the MapShare option shows up under Tools.
     
    canderson, Dec 31, 2010
    #6
  7. BretC

    BretC

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally found the tools menu

    OK, I finally found the "tools" menu. Because I am using an Apple Imac my tools function is on the very top of the screen, not on the "home" program itself.

    I will try this.

    thanks!

    Bret C
     
    BretC, Dec 31, 2010
    #7
  8. BretC

    BretC

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    TT STILL avoids the fasts and most direct route - STRANGE

    Very strange how my TT XXL still avoids the most direct route from Neodesha KS to 2617 South Santa Fe Avenue
    Chanute, KS 66720-3206 which is state why 47 East of Altoona, KS. I have removed the "map share corrections" (by the way, how do I put them back?), tried various settings in the TT of trusted sources, turned off IQ etc. The ONLY thing that I can think of is the fact that Hwy 47 East of Altoona, KS will soon go under construction, but if it was flagged as a route NOT to take, shouldn't the GPS use this route?

    Thank you to everyone who is helping solve this mystery.

    Thanks!

    Bret C
     
    BretC, Dec 31, 2010
    #8
  9. BretC

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    Are you expecting the TT to go east on 47, and then north on 169?

    If so, it appears Tomtom has a map bug.

    Because 169 moves slightly west at the 47 intersection, Tomtom misinterprets the intersection as a bridge, and the map doesn't think the roads actually cross.

    You can report the issue with mapshare, and hopefully Tomtom will fix it in a future map.
     
    mvl, Jan 3, 2011
    #9
  10. BretC

    BretC

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Map bug - KS 169

    Yes you are correct our TT avoids 169 East of Altoona and 169 North. This is very interesting. I am also curious as to how you determined TT misinterprets a bridge on that location.

    Thank you for your help and support. I will report this via mapshare.

    Thanks

    Bret C

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 3, 2011
    BretC, Jan 3, 2011
    #10
  11. BretC

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    I tried to make it a valid intersection via mapshare. If Tomtom thinks the roads intersect, I would have been able to adjust the valid intersection turns realtime. But browsing that area in mapshare never showed an intersection, that's how I know it's misinterpreted as a bridge.
     
    mvl, Jan 10, 2011
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.