How to Install POI Alerts

Discussion in 'POI Alerts' started by digital-flex, Apr 13, 2007.

  1. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    How to Install POI Alerts

    POI alerts only work for custom POI’s that are installed on your TomTom device. Refer to this thread on how to install custom POI’s. Once you have installed the custom POI and want a corresponding custom alert follow these instruction.

    I will be using the Red Light Camera alert as an example to keep the theme I used in the How To Install Custom POI thread. (Credit goes to Pedro2NR for the alert)

    1. Download the custom POI alert on your desktop.

    [​IMG]


    2. Right-click the file and select - Extract to RedLight Camera\

    [​IMG]


    3. This will create a folder on your desktop like so:

    [​IMG]


    4. Open the folder and you will see a *.ogg file. If you see a *.mp3 as well, that is for sampling purposes (thanks to Skizza). The sample file is included in case you want to hear the alert and don't have a player that can play *.ogg files.

    Take notice of the filename as it plays an important part in the next step.

    [​IMG]


    5. Copy the *.ogg file to your map directory containing the Custom POI. In my case, I copied it to my North_America folder.

    IMPORTANT: You need to rename the *.ogg file to match the custom POI you want the alert for. So, I renamed RedLight Camera.ogg to Toronto, Ontario.ogg because my Red Light camera POI is called Toronto, Ontario.

    [​IMG]

    6. That’s it. The custom alert has been installed.


    How do I enable it?

    1. Go into the Changes Preferences> Mange POI>Warn when near POI

    [​IMG]


    2. Choose the POI with the custom alert

    [​IMG]


    3. Enter the distance to how far you want to be warned

    [​IMG]

    4. Checkmark warn POI in route

    [​IMG]

    5. To make sure the alert is enabled, tap Warn when near POI and you should see a speaker beside the POI

    [​IMG]


    How do I test the alert without actually going through the route?

    You can simply choose a route to the POI that has the alert and run a demo. When you come close to the POI, you should hear the alert play.

    To run a demo first navigate to the POI, then go in the Main Menu>View Route>Show Demo Route. I found that choosing a value anywhere between 300-450% depending on the route is fast enough to wait for the demo reach the POI and slow enough for the warning to be heard/spoken.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2007
    digital-flex, Apr 13, 2007
    #1
    2 people like this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. digital-flex

    ldivinag

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    N37 33* W122 3*
    noob question?

    how do you install them on the ONE XL?
     
    ldivinag, Aug 2, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    The instructions outlined are general to all TT devices. Is there a step you are having trouble with?
     
    digital-flex, Aug 2, 2007
    #3
  4. digital-flex

    ldivinag

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    N37 33* W122 3*
    no...

    again, i only had the machine for less than 6 hours when i first posted.

    now, upon learning more, i see that when i connected the XL, it shows up as a drive letter on my win XP machine.

    i see there is a USA_and_Canada folder with the .ov2 and .bmp files.
     
    ldivinag, Aug 3, 2007
    #4
  5. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I see...

    So I assume then you have no problems installing the alerts?
     
    digital-flex, Aug 3, 2007
    #5
  6. digital-flex

    matt74

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Welland, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT One 2nd Gen
    I am having problem with putting in the distance for the POI i can put in 250 meters but when i press DONE it doesnt do anything i have my OGG file in the same directory as my Custom POI and same name but it doesnt let me finish the setup.

    Matt
     
    matt74, Oct 26, 2007
    #6
  7. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Hmm...I'm wondering, what firmware version are you using? NavCore 6 or 7?
     
    digital-flex, Oct 26, 2007
    #7
  8. digital-flex

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    have you tried setting a larger distance and seeing if it works?
     
    Pedro2NR, Oct 27, 2007
    #8
  9. digital-flex

    kiangan321

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Report Safety Camera Feature

    Hi. I just got a TT 720 and it has a button for "Report Safety Camera". I tried to add a location and went to choose from mobile to fix and the other options in the "advance" section. Then the unit would say that it has been reported.
    My inquiry is, how do you use this info and display it as POI and comes with an alert?
    Thanks.

    Percy
     
    kiangan321, Nov 8, 2007
    #9
  10. digital-flex

    lec510

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    16
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 510
    You can add menu 'Add Position to Favorites' to the 'Quick Menu'.
    While driving hit the 'Quick Menu' , 'Add Position to Favorites' (only 2 keystrokes, much less dangerous !:D )
    Back home add that Favorite to a POI Category.
     
    lec510, Nov 8, 2007
    #10
  11. digital-flex

    kiangan321

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great. let me try that option. I know you can do this but How will you use the feature of "report camera location" and use it as a regular POI? Thanks.
     
    kiangan321, Nov 9, 2007
    #11
  12. digital-flex

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Would you like a seperate POI category for Camera locations?
    You can make your own POI category and add each location as you see them by using the Browse Map and add going through the add location as a POI.

    AFAIK, the Speed Cameras on the TT aren't really characterized as a regualar POI category.
     
    Pedro2NR, Nov 9, 2007
    #12
  13. digital-flex

    kiangan321

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just did the "Add New Favorite" by using "browse map" and added to my "new poi category", this is fine.
    What I was wandering is, what is the use of the "Report Camera" option for after reporting it? Where does it go? How will you use this info?
    Thanks.
     
    kiangan321, Nov 9, 2007
    #13
  14. digital-flex

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    This is for TomTom's Speed Camera database.

    They have a database for Europe and not NA.
     
    Pedro2NR, Nov 9, 2007
    #14
  15. digital-flex

    kiangan321

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok. Now I know. thank you for the reply.
     
    kiangan321, Nov 9, 2007
    #15
  16. digital-flex

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Sure, no problem.
     
    Pedro2NR, Nov 9, 2007
    #16
  17. digital-flex

    matt74

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Welland, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT One 2nd Gen
    installing alerts for Factory installed POI's

    IS there a way to add POI alerts to POI's that are installed on the TT like it comes with rest stops. I would like to put in a alert from the website. I know you need to rename the alert the same as the POI file name but what is the file name for the factory installed POI's or where would i find it on my TT.
     
    matt74, Nov 18, 2007
    #17
  18. digital-flex

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    This option is only available for the units with Text to Speech: ONEXL*S 910, 520, 720, 920,
     
    Pedro2NR, Nov 18, 2007
    #18
  19. digital-flex

    duallydave

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    hi all
    weird thing,when i install the ogg file and dont name it .ogg it wont give me any sound options but when i use the .ogg it gives me the bell and stuff options but no custom one,i have a ttv3.am i doing it wrong?thanx
    dave
     
    duallydave, Nov 20, 2007
    #19
  20. digital-flex

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    is the .ogg file the same name as the custom POI and bmp file?
     
    Pedro2NR, Nov 20, 2007
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.