How to get gps to display street names

TomTom Model(s)
go2535
Hi,
I am new to TomTom (my last gps wasn't). How can I get this Tomtom to display street names?!.
I know my own city by street names, not their "County highway numbers"). This is extremely annoying. I see that I can change street names, but I don't want to have to rename every street in my city. I also just learned that my gps refuses voice control and tells me the "selected country is not right". Shouldn't a gps know what country it is in? Apparently the fix is to reboot it (which also loses all my settings). So if I have to do this every week, then I would have to rename every street number in my city on a regular basis. So far I am totally unimpressed with this Tomtom.
Does anyone have a solution for me, besides throwing it away?
Thanks, Randy

We have you located in Ottawa, is that correct? If not, can you narrow down your location further so we can look at the mapping for that area?

Also unclear about why the device is putting you in another country. From what you described about the mapping issue, it knows where you are and is producing a map under your car icon, so I think you're talking about another and more specific problem, perhaps related to the voice in use. Which voice do you have selected?

First, I am using the default language for North America. Second, the voice control did initially work. Then it stopped working. When I start the car it was saying "deactivating voice control". The icon was still on the screen, but when I click it I would get "voice control not available for selected country". I found a "work-around" online that involves rebooting the gps, but also loses all my configuration settings and my phone pairing. If I rename every street in my city and lose the settings I will have to do them all over again. Some people have said they have to reboot theirs every week.