How to check Map version

Bob,

When you start up the TomTom you will see at the bottom left of the screen a bunch of bars...this is your GPS signal status. Press there.

Once that is done you will see at the lower right a "version" square with a version number on this. Press there.

Once you have done that you will get a screen that gives you a bunch of information about what your version is, map edition, etc.....

Here is a link from the TT website....I know it is for checking your device code but below that you will see your map edition. What edition does yours say???

http://www.tomtom.com/support/product.php?ID=232&Language=4&FID=2168

Sorry to bring up an old thread but I'm completely new to this! :) I've been doing a ton of research for the past month and have been debating (heavily) between the Magellan 4000, Nuvi 200, and the One.

I finally spent an hour at the local Circuit City to play with all three units and despite the One's bad rep on its routing engine I'm 98% sure I'll get the One as I love the interface and the navigating screen is to my preference. At least it recognizes my home address whereas the other two didn't (6 year old sub division).

Anyway, I checked their unopened stock and it's the "v4" version, the one with 1GB internal memory and no card.

I *THINK* the unit on display is also this but I'm not sure. There appears to be a card in the slot but I couldn't get it out. Now comes the question. While playing around I noticed that the map version is 6.50.....

Should I be concerned that if I were to get one, it would come with such an "old" version? Or is v6.50.... nearly an impossible combo with a "v4" unit?

CC charges a 15% restocking fee so once I open it, it's mine. Buy from another vendor? Well, I have $150 in CC gift certificates that will expire soon and thus my wanting to get a GPS. :D