How Do I Update Safety Cameras Alerts?

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Dankees, Dec 27, 2010.

  1. Dankees

    Dankees

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    550TM
    Can someone please tell me how I can add safety cameras (red light cameras) to my TomTom 550TM?

    Thank you.
     
    Dankees, Dec 27, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Dankees

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,130
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    They are not offered on all models.

    Can you go to Services on your unit? If so, is safety cameras active? What does it say if you click it (if active)?
     
    dhn, Dec 27, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Dankees

    Dankees

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    550TM
    The Safety Cameras feature is activated, but how do I add new cameras to my TomTom?
     
    Dankees, Dec 27, 2010
    #3
  4. Dankees

    Captain Walker

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    RedSoxNation
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 550T
    To piggyback, when I was leaving NYC yesterday AM on the West Side Highway, I heard two "beep" tones from my 550. Was that safety cameras?
     
    Captain Walker, Dec 27, 2010
    #4
  5. Dankees

    Rick F.

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    South FL
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL-335TM; Map 935.5811
    To add safety camera tap screen and navigate to "TomTom Services". Then tap 'Safety Cameras'. After either viewing the tour (which is good to view at least once), tap "Report Safety Camera", Just follow the choices (either fixed or Temp) and the prompts thereafter.
     
    Rick F., Dec 27, 2010
    #5
  6. Dankees

    Rick F.

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    South FL
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL-335TM; Map 935.5811
    Could have been. Did you see an icon pop up on the upper left of the screen? It could also be some other alert that you might have selected like POI or speeding alert. The sound depends on what you have selected.
     
    Rick F., Dec 27, 2010
    #6
  7. Dankees

    Dankees

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    550TM
    I don't see an option anywhere for "TomTom Services"...
     
    Dankees, Dec 27, 2010
    #7
  8. Dankees

    Rick F.

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    South FL
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL-335TM; Map 935.5811
    Oh, that's right. The 550 has the "simplified menu". Not sure how to add new cameras to those. Sorry. Maybe someone else knows. :confused:
     
    Rick F., Dec 27, 2010
    #8
  9. Dankees

    Dankees

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    550TM
    Anyone else, please?
     
    Dankees, Dec 27, 2010
    #9
  10. Dankees

    Dankees

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    550TM
    Can someone please tell me?
     
    Dankees, Dec 28, 2010
    #10
  11. Dankees

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,130
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Repeated requests every hour won't get a better response, I guess.

    Call CS at 866-486-6866.

    Sorry I couldn't help further.
     
    dhn, Dec 28, 2010
    #11
  12. Dankees

    Captain Walker

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    RedSoxNation
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 550T
    I didn't see an icon (didn't look), and I haven't added any other audio alerts (a speeding one would be a constant for me!)
     
    Captain Walker, Dec 28, 2010
    #12
  13. Dankees

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    Tomtom Safety cameras are only updated from Tomtom servers. LIVE devices pull them over-the-air. But non-LIVE devices like the XXL 550TM only update when connected to a computer.

    To update on your computer, install Tomtom HOME and do "Update my XXL". One of the updates it offers is "Safety Cameras".

    Some Tomtom models allow you to report individual Safety Cameras to Tomtom so that they can validate and add it to their database, but the XXL 550TM doesn't have that functionality.
     
    mvl, Dec 31, 2010
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.