How do I shut this thing up

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by GregNAtl, Jul 23, 2009.

  1. GregNAtl

    GregNAtl

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sometimes when I have my TT navigate me to a destination after I get to my destination and then leave to go somewhere else, I want it to stop giving me directions (maybe I already know how to get there) but I still want to leave it on just to see where I am at. How do I get it to stop giving me directions without turning it off
     
    GregNAtl, Jul 23, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. GregNAtl

    doctormstein1

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Holtsville, NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    2535M Live
    you can clear the rouite from the navagate to screen press the right arrow and then press right arrow again to see the clear route button. Now you can just see the route as you travel without any words
     
    doctormstein1, Jul 23, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. GregNAtl

    rcacs

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Morden, Manitoba, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider 2
    Within the preferences, you should have a "turn sound off" option, and driving mode, it is one of the 4 options mine has.

    Cheers
     
    rcacs, Jul 23, 2009
    #3
  4. GregNAtl

    doctormstein1

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Holtsville, NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    2535M Live
    no, not in preferences. The page past map corrections on the same page as tom tom traffic It should say clear route
     
    doctormstein1, Jul 23, 2009
    #4
  5. GregNAtl

    rcacs

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Morden, Manitoba, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider 2
    Actually, you dont need to clear the route. You can still navigate, just turn of the sound. I rarely if ever have sound on myself.

    Or is that not what the OP is askIng?....

    When he says for it to stop giving directions I was under the impression he meant voice directions.

    If he wants it to totally stop giving directions of any kind, then yes, you are correct in saying to clear the route.....

    :)



    Cheers

    ps: its always very helpful if the model is listed....
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2009
    rcacs, Jul 23, 2009
    #5
  6. GregNAtl

    dervari

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    2
    Automatic clearing of the route after arrival is something many people have requested. It's crazy that once you arrive at your destination that the route isn't cleared. You're already there!
     
    dervari, Jul 27, 2009
    #6
  7. GregNAtl

    pianoCM

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO920
    Clear the route or you can create your own "arrival" sound to horn off when arriving the destination.
     
    pianoCM, Jul 27, 2009
    #7
  8. GregNAtl

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,112
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520

    Here's the issue.......

    Mapping data is never 100% accurate; consequently, where the gps thinks your destination is (say the map is showing a driveway) may be 50' from the real driveway. So, you HAVE reached the destination but according to the map (gps), you haven't. So, it doesn't 'clear the route' since (in theory) you haven't gotten there yet.
     
    dhn, Jul 27, 2009
    #8
  9. GregNAtl

    paspossible

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can confirm this. Usually, if your destination is somewhere you've been before and you used the gps to map that position to your favorites, it will show you right on target the next time you route there and the route will auto-clear. Once in a while with addresses and built-in POI, it will be accurate enough to clear the route but mostly, it won't.

    Note that, if you add to your favorites once sitting in the building at your destination, the gps will NEVER consider you made it the next time you drive to that destination. The point you save must be on the last mapped road or the last possible point your vehicle will ALWAYS cross when going there. If you are sitting in your car, parked at the far-end of the parking lot when you save your favorite, the next time you go there, unless you park at the same spot, the gps won't see the trip as completed. The best spot to save, in this case, would be the parking lot entrance for example, or any point you will always pass-trough. Nothing stop you from parking and walking back to that point in order to save the favorite.


    Maybe TomTom could implement a user-selectable feature where the route is cleared when within a hundred feet of the target?
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2009
    paspossible, Jul 27, 2009
    #9
  10. GregNAtl

    rcacs

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Morden, Manitoba, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider 2
    Hmmm..funny the OP has never responded to any post.

    Cheers!
     
    rcacs, Jul 27, 2009
    #10
  11. GregNAtl

    dervari

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    2
    When I navigate to Home, I have it set for an intersection near my house. I know for a fact that it knows I've arrived because the Status Bar goes blank and it tells me I have arrived. However, whenI turn it back on it tries to route me home again. I know it's selectable, but I want it to resume where it left off when I turn it back on, but ONLY if I haven't arrived at my ultimate destination. If I've already arrived, and the unit knows I have, why does it restart the Navigate To when I turn it back on?
     
    dervari, Jul 28, 2009
    #11
  12. GregNAtl

    doctormstein1

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Holtsville, NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    2535M Live
    Suppositly whenever you put in a New route your unit clears automatically.. However if you just want to see the roads you have to do it manually.
     
    doctormstein1, Jul 28, 2009
    #12
  13. GregNAtl

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    Yes, that's a known quirk in the software. A power off/on switches the Tomtom from "arrived" mode to "unarrived" mode. Only way to prevent it is the clear route before poweroff. I've got it down to a habit on my 720, tap -> lower right -> lower right -> upper right -> lower right

    I wish the Tomtom did what my accord nav does.. After a power off/on, it auto selects the next stop on your itinerary. If you completed the last stop, it clears the route.

    I think one of the linux gurus like mikealder can write a clear route upon poweron fix for this. It would involve creating a linux autorun file, and deleting the current itinerary (I forget the temp folder it sits in). There could be legitimate reasons (eg rest area bathroom break0 where you want to keep a route up, but a navigate to recent destination would achieve that.
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2009
    mvl, Jul 30, 2009
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.