How do i completely reinstall my 930 from scratch?

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by DustPuppy, Dec 6, 2009.

  1. DustPuppy

    DustPuppy

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 930 T
    I have fiddled around with my 930T adding some 3rd party software and custom voices.
    I have tried to remove all of it, but somehow i seem to have stuff left over.
    I tried to reset it to factory but somehow i cant get both US and Europe maps back on to it.
    I suddenly have too little space left on device !!??
    I came preinstalled with bot sets of maps, and i removed the US maps as i didnt plan to go to US anytime soon.

    To make matters worse, today i updated to latest map via TomTom Home, and it barfs on me with "No Maps Found"
    I reinstalled US, and removed Europe, THAT worked... Bu i cant seem to get Europe back on.

    So my question is; How do i completely clean the unit?
    I want to have a "pristine" system to update to current maps.
     
    DustPuppy, Dec 6, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. DustPuppy

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    See here about how to add a map without using Home.
     
    dhn, Dec 6, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. DustPuppy

    DustPuppy

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 930 T
    Yes, i've read that .
    I got a map back on by reinstalling US, restarting, and then reinstalling the EU and emoving the US (for space) at the same time.
    That gave me a EU map back, but it still doesnt solve the problem of lost space, and a cleared unit.
    Also, i have found that some apps still "linger" with menu items but no software...

    I want to completely wipe the unit.

    /Rikard
     
    DustPuppy, Dec 6, 2009
    #3
  4. DustPuppy

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Have you got a folder called sdkregistry on the device, if so look at what's in it as most third party stuff gets added to that, what apps did you add to the device that you want rid of as I should be able to tell you where the files are and what to delete once I know what was added in the first place - Mike
     
    mikealder, Dec 6, 2009
    #4
  5. DustPuppy

    DustPuppy

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 930 T
    yes, that takes care of the leftovers. but still not the clearing of the system.
     
    DustPuppy, Dec 6, 2009
    #5
  6. DustPuppy

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    4GB SDHC cards are not expensive right now.
    Why don't you put one in the slot and keep one map on the device and the other on the SD card.
    That should leave you with plenty of space on either.
     
    Arno, Dec 6, 2009
    #6
  7. DustPuppy

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    To do a full clear out:

    1) backup the Tomtom per this link
    2) format the Tomtom drive as fat32
    3) unplug the Tomtom and turn it off/on to initialize the drive with files
    4) plug back into HOME and it will reinstall everything except the maps

    You can purchase new maps if that is your plan, or just copy the map folders back from step 1

    Don't put too many computer voices on it as they take up lots of space each.
     
    mvl, Dec 9, 2009
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.