Home Depot isn't a POI?!!

Discussion in 'System Configuration and Customization' started by VIPtoGOD, Jan 5, 2007.

  1. VIPtoGOD

    VIPtoGOD

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom ONE
    Okay - I'm a newbie here, but seriously. Home Depot, Wal-Mart, Saddleback Church - these are HUGE, nationally-known enterprises, and they don't come up as POIs on my TomTom ONE.

    There's probably a download I'm missing, or am I only supposed to get airports, restaurants, golf courses, and pharmacies (to name a few)?

    Sheesh! Any help would be appreciated. Thanks...V.I.P.
     
    VIPtoGOD, Jan 5, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. VIPtoGOD

    raincloud

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    You don`t think TomTom just randomly select the biggest store names and stick them in as POIs?

    It`s all got to do with money. You pay the right price or shake the right hands and your POI appears!
     
    raincloud, Jan 5, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. VIPtoGOD

    battom

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    28
    TomTom's logo is TWO hands..... hehe



    _________________________
    [​IMG]
     
    battom, Jan 5, 2007
    #3
  4. VIPtoGOD

    Giorgio57

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Rome,Italy - Newport Bch. California
    TomTom Model(s):
    Mercedes A160 Go300 - 510 Apple iPhone
    TomTom supplied poi's

    The poi's TomTom supplies are general, ex.Gas staions,Car Dealerships.Company,Hotel,Nightlife,Pharmacy etc. like you stated.The Specific POI's are made professionally or by some TomTom owners.(you can find them in the POI section of the Forum. but they are not for the total U.S.)We are constantly updating them when someone askes for a certain area that has not been added.Some have been made for tomtom users who asked for thier needs. Go to the POi section and download what you want. If you have special request don't hesitate to ask and we will try to
    please you. REMEMBER to always mention State,City,Town and or Zip code!

    George
     
    Giorgio57, Jan 5, 2007
    #4
  5. VIPtoGOD

    VIPtoGOD

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom ONE
    Hi George - thanks for answering me. Here's the deal - I travel all over the U.S.A. for business, and when I leave the hotel (in whatever city) - I need to find an Office Depot, or a Best Buy, or a Wal-Mart.

    I have rented 3 cars with navigation systems before, and one of the units (a Magellan or a Garmin) let me punch in "retail stores" or "Wal-Mart" and it just came up. Everything in Ohio I punched in came up. So - with my TomTom do I have to download every retail store in every state in the US, is there some other solution with the TomTom, or should I return it and buy a Magellan or a Garmin? (So sorry, but it's got to meet my needs) - Irvine, CA, 92614
     
    VIPtoGOD, Jan 5, 2007
    #5
  6. VIPtoGOD

    Giorgio57

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Rome,Italy - Newport Bch. California
    TomTom Model(s):
    Mercedes A160 Go300 - 510 Apple iPhone
    Giorgio57, Jan 6, 2007
    #6
  7. VIPtoGOD

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Hello VIP and welcome. Sorry to hear about your frustration.

    My job is near the Irvine area and I would like to help. I noticed when searching for those POIs, Best Buy hardly comes up. Office depot does pop up and Walmart must be spelled "Wal-mart".

    We can help making any POIs for your situation.
     
    Pedro2NR, Jan 6, 2007
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.