Help, TT 910 is dead!

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by TTdead, Mar 16, 2007.

  1. TTdead

    TTdead

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Recently bought the 910 ( about a month old)

    Have only charged from the home charger , not the car charger

    Today, the unit refuses to power on, i have tried the reset button option to no avail..

    Can someone please suggest what I should do next??

    Thanks
     
    TTdead, Mar 16, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. TTdead

    hermdog

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO Classic & 910
    Make sure the home charger power cable is all the way in. I don't know on yours, but mine is very loose and I have to push it in to make contact.
     
    hermdog, Mar 16, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. TTdead

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    It maybe possible that the battery is completely dead. Try charging it for maybe 30 minutes or so and try again.
     
    digital-flex, Mar 16, 2007
    #3
  4. TTdead

    TTdead

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    :confused:
    yes mine is loose too, but the green light was on indicating it was charging
     
    TTdead, Mar 16, 2007
    #4
  5. TTdead

    TTdead

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    i had it "charging" all of last night( with the green charging light coming on)
     
    TTdead, Mar 16, 2007
    #5
  6. TTdead

    TTdead

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0

    thanks
    is it possible that even though the green charging light is on, it is not getting charged due to loose connection between TT and the home charger base??
     
    TTdead, Mar 16, 2007
    #6
  7. TTdead

    Foxbreakr

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tampa
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT910/TT920t
    I had this problem when i first got my tt910. I called support and they said that it is possible to overcharge your tt. Reset your tt910 with the reset button and hold it down for like 5 seconds. this should do the trick. At least it did for me. They said u should not charge it on the home charger for more than 3-4 hrs at a time.

    Hope that works for you

    foxbreakr
     
    Foxbreakr, Mar 16, 2007
    #7
  8. TTdead

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Really? hmmm...

    I don't know but it could be possible. You probably tried it but while its being charged hold down the power button for a good minute. Press hard, maybe it'll wake up??

    Just a thought. I'm out of ideas. Anyone?
     
    digital-flex, Mar 16, 2007
    #8
  9. TTdead

    TTdead

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    interesting

    thanks for sharing

    the reset button didnt do anything for me though:(

    my computer is not recognising the device also..

    aargh!
     
    TTdead, Mar 16, 2007
    #9
  10. TTdead

    battom

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    28
    TT devices like to have the reset button held for 10+ seconds.... do a nice looooooong reset. See what happens.
     
    battom, Mar 16, 2007
    #10
  11. TTdead

    battom

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    28
    also...make sure you are pushing the reset and not the internal mic!!!
     
    battom, Mar 16, 2007
    #11
  12. TTdead

    TTdead

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks

    did do a 30 second reset, no dice!

    i checked the reset button on the official site
     
    TTdead, Mar 16, 2007
    #12
  13. TTdead

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    This might be a long shot by remove the sd card and try powering up. See if that helps.
     
    digital-flex, Mar 16, 2007
    #13
  14. TTdead

    battom

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    28
    that won't do anything... it's a 910
     
    battom, Mar 16, 2007
    #14
  15. TTdead

    battom

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    28
    well... your username certainly fits!!! Sorry to say...
    i think you have me stumped!
     
    battom, Mar 16, 2007
    #15
  16. TTdead

    battom

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    28
    Pedro2NR is the resident 910 expert... he's on late nights typically. (from cali) maybe he can shed some light.

    it's about 30 days old and everything worked right up until the HOME update??? NOTHING else happened?
     
    battom, Mar 16, 2007
    #16
  17. TTdead

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I kinda figured....it was a long shot.
     
    digital-flex, Mar 16, 2007
    #17
  18. TTdead

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    It looks like your unit is charging if the green light is on.
    If you hold the reset button for 30 seconds, it will do a full reset (erase info). This should be done after the unit is charged.

    How long are you holding down the on button?

    Your computer doesn't recognize it because it's not turning on and asking you to connect to your computer.

    I would try to hold down the power button until you see the splash screen. If it doesn't turn on after 10-20 seconds, let go of the button and repeat the process on more time.

    If this doesn't work, I would try to get an exchange for another unit, if it's not too late to do so.
     
    Pedro2NR, Mar 16, 2007
    #18
  19. TTdead

    dkeagle

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 910
    Had the same problem a week or two ago. Held the reset button for 10 seconds or more and it reset and started right up...
     
    dkeagle, Mar 16, 2007
    #19
  20. TTdead

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    How we doing over TTdead? I hope you were able to bring life to your device.
     
    digital-flex, Mar 16, 2007
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.