help screensaver


Joined
Dec 28, 2008
Messages
5
Hello let me just say I love my tomtoms. I have a one, a rider, and a go930. Guestion is how do i turn off the damn screensaver i guess that's what is? It turns on after awhile telling you what it does. Please help!!!!
 
Ad

Advertisements

PSJ

Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
282
Location
Central, Florida USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 930 Plus Services, Traffic, Fuel prices
Screensaver ??

Maybe you mean " Tips "


change preferences....show tips....done.



.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2008
Messages
5
nope not tips after about 5-15 minutes of driving it will turn the map off to some sort of tomtom advertising thing telling you everything you can do with the new 930. not tips. But thanks.
 

PSJ

Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
282
Location
Central, Florida USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 930 Plus Services, Traffic, Fuel prices
Sounds like you have a

display or a demo model ?


Did yo buy the device NEW not refurbished ?

Was the device in a " sealed " box ?


To correct this....you may need to reformat the device and reinstall the navcore and maps.


.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2008
Messages
5
ok problem still there my one use to do it but I could just go in under demo and turn it off help please
 
Ad

Advertisements

PSJ

Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
282
Location
Central, Florida USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 930 Plus Services, Traffic, Fuel prices
Figured it out just had to remove the script folder and no more ads for tomtom


Interesting,

as I asked in post 2

was the unit a display model ?

was the unit sealed or an open box when you bought ?

Was the unit refurbished ?


Never seen this problem with a new sealed device.





also

I have the " script " folder that contains the file " liblua.so "

I've had this folder with many of the Navcore versions....8.002...8.3....8.320

and never had this problem.



.
 
Last edited:

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,775
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Figured it out just had to remove the script folder and no more ads for tomtom
What was in your script folder?
My 930 contains the file liblua.so and in the half year I have that machine I did not experience the problem you had.
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
1
Solution: rename script

Importcraz1,

Most likely the demo script in the \script directory of your TT is named "salesdemo.script". A script by this name is run automatically after a certain time. Just rename it to "demo.script". Problem solved.

Regards
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
1
I have this problem too, i havent had the chance to hook it to my comp yet thou.

It was brand new TT V3 sealed in the plastic blister box from Best Buy.

After 5-10 min it would go to demo mode after i set a destination and let it set which is annoying.

Im gona take the advice posted and delete the scipts.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
1
How do you find this and remove it, I have searched EVERYWHERE and can not find the folder for the scripts anywhere?? Please can someone give me instructions on how to do this cause the screensaver is driving me crazy
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,212
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
Use Explorer to look at the contents of your unit. One folder should be called script. Delete the contents in there.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,775
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
One folder should be called script. Delete the contents in there.
As reported a year ago, PSJ and I have the file liblua.so in the script folder since new and never had a problem.
Does anyone know what this file does, if anything?
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,212
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
I have that as well, Arno. I suspect it is used for the tour of the unit when you first take it out of the box and start to set up your information. You are asked if you want a tour of the unit.

When you restore to factory defaults, you're offered the tour again ..........I think that's it
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,775
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
I don't recall being asked, Dave, but I never did take that tour and since I have no intentions to reset to factory default voluntarily I hopefully never have to find out if your guess is correct. ;->)
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
1
demo ad

Connect the tomtom to your pc. Open start menu. Open My Computer. Double click tomtom device. Delet the folder called script. Done.:D:D
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
2
Screensaver hell

Hi All,

I have just bought a Via Live which is also running a screensaver demo (showing me what features a tomtom has after 10 mins driving). I can tap the screen and it stops, but cannot remove the script file as the Via Live does not show as an external drive (e.g F:) on my PC. Any ideas kind people?
Thanks, Chris:rolleyes:
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top