Help - getting map from computer back onto tom tom

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by UA935, Aug 23, 2009.

  1. UA935

    UA935

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    Looking for some assistance please, I am not very computer literate.

    I purchased the USA maps and installed them to my Tom Tom One, having first copied the Western Europe maps to my computer and then deleted them from my device to make room for the USA maps.

    I now cannot work out how to get te Western Europe map back onto my Tom Tom.

    The map shows as being stored on my computer if I go into the remove items area of Tom Tom home but does not show up in the maps area, the only Westrn Europe map showing in the maps area is the downloadable version.

    Can someone help please?

    Many thanks in advance.

    Simon
     
    UA935, Aug 23, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. UA935

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Connect the device to the PC and shut Home down, start Windows Explorer and look for the drive letter associated with your TomTom. Click the drive to reveal the contents.

    First off copy the USA map back to the computer using Windows Explorer, then delete it from the device, now locate the Western Europe map folder on the computer right click the folder and select "Copy" now go back to the drive letter associated with your TomTom right click the drive letter and select "Paste" this will transfer the map to the device - Mike
     
    mikealder, Aug 23, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. UA935

    UA935

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do I paste this into the maps folder on the device?

    I deleted the USA map, copied and pasted the Western Europe map but after it had copied over the Tom Tom stated no maps were installed.

    On my C drive I have a folder in the tom tom home folder named from device, the western europe map is in there, do I need to copy and paste everything from the "from device folder" and if so does this need to be pasted to a specific foler on the device?

    Sorry about all this, I had some PC issues a few weeks ago and nothing has been simple since.

    Thanks in advance.

    Simon
     
    UA935, Aug 23, 2009
    #3
  4. UA935

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    The name of the folder on the unit MUST be named exactly as the map. So, if the map is Western_Europe, the folder must be called that and that's where the files you backed up go into.

    For example, I have a map called North_America_2GB and that is the name of the folder as well.
     
    dhn, Aug 23, 2009
    #4
  5. UA935

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    Go to "add traffic, voices, etc" then keep arrowing through screens until you see "Items on my computer". You can add the map to your ONE from there.
     
    mvl, Aug 28, 2009
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.