hard wire

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by cebee, Jan 6, 2011.

  1. cebee

    cebee

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I'm brand new to the site and to anything electrical in relation to my cbr600f.
    I have a tomtom rider 2 for 2 years and always just use it by re-charge. I dont have any idea how to wire it to the battery...can anyone point me in a good direction. I have the cable and have see a previous post on using a fuse but dont know how/where this goes or what or how it is connected or plugged into.
    I would really appreciate any help/advice
    thanks
     
    cebee, Jan 6, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. cebee

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,072
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Moved to appropriate forum.
     
    dhn, Jan 6, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. cebee

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Does This offer any ideas, I know its not the same bike but the same method of connecting the electrics can be employed on your machine - Mike
     
    mikealder, Jan 7, 2011
    #3
  4. cebee

    rcacs

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Morden, Manitoba, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider 2
    Its actually a pretty simple connection. The black should go to your negative battery (most bikes use aluminum frames and should not be used as a ground) and the red to your positive on the battery with an inline fuse with the appropriate amperage.

    Some like to add a relay so that when the key is off, so is the power to your Rider. I have mine connected thru a junction box that contains fuses, but the power is always on. I left the Rider turned on once for 3 days and it had no effect on starting the bike.

    Cheers!
     
    rcacs, Jan 7, 2011
    #4
  5. cebee

    cebee

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank youfor the advice people, now I just have to find an inline fuse (what ever that is), ill ask at a elec shop. i take it it justt needs to be connected to the positive wire...that was part of my confusion, how 2 wires can go into one fuse...
    i shall endevour to find out a bit more before i either blow up the bike or drain the battery.
    thanks
     
    cebee, Jan 12, 2011
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.